World Cup for Nine.

No not that World Cup, the other one.

Nine has announced broadcast rights to The 2008 Rugby League World Cup.
The matches will take place from late October to late November in Sydney, Brisbane, Melbourne, Robina and Townsville.

Countries competing include Australia, New Zealand, England, France, Papua New Guinea, Tonga and Fiji.

Press Release:

The Nine Network Australia has won the exclusive Australian Free to Air rights to Rugby League’s biggest international prize – the 2008 World Cup.

Nine will televise games including the ‘Super Pool’ matches, Semi-finals and Final of the 10-team tournament commencing in Sydney on October 25.

The World Cup Final at Suncorp Stadium on November 22 will be the final showpiece of the game’s centenary celebrations in Australia.

“Nine is the home of Rugby League for Australian viewers and this exciting partnership with the Rugby League International Federation demonstrates our continued commitment to the sport,” said Eddie McGuire, Chief Executive Officer, Nine Network Australia.

Australia, New Zealand, England, France, Papua New Guinea, Tonga and Fiji are confirmed qualifiers for the tournament. Qualifying matches for the remaining three berths will conclude in November.

Since the Rugby League World Cup was first staged in France in 1954, the tournament has been played in eight nations, with games held in over 50 cities and towns.

This will be the fourth time Australia has hosted the tournament with matches to be played across the country, including Sydney, Brisbane, Melbourne, Robina and Townsville, with negotiations continuing to host matches in other locations.

Nine looks forward to reporting on all the action as the world’s best teams compete to become the 2008 Rugby League World Cup champions.

Kindly credit this website when posting in messageboards, thanks!

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.