Airdate: Helpmann Awards 2011

Jonathan Biggins will host theatre's top awards live on STVDIO in August.

Nominations for the 2011 Helpmann Awards were announced yesterday, ahead of the event being staged at the Sydney Opera House on Monday 1 August.

Nominees included Dr Zhivago, Hairspray, Love Never Dies, Mary Poppins, Aida, and La Boheme.

Also nominated are familiar names including Eddie Perfect, Tim Minchin, Denise Scott, Hannah Gadsby, Wil Anderson, Jason Coleman, and Tom Gleeson.

Jonathan Biggins will host the ceremony with performances by the casts of Dr Zhivago, Hairspray, Mary Poppins and Rock of Ages; Ben Lewis (The Phantom) from Love Never Dies, Slava and Leonard Grigoryan, Expressions Dance Theatre from Brisbane, STOMP, and the Opera Australia Chorus, amongst others.

Trevor Jones and James Pratt are the joint winners of the Brian Stacey Award for Emerging Australian Conductors.

STVDIO will air the event with Red Carpet commencing at 7.30pm and the live Ceremony from 8pm.

This year, the JC Williamson Award will be presented to Australia’s Leading Ladies of Theatre: Nancye Hayes, Toni Lamond and Jill Perryman.

Full nominees.

One Response

Leave a Reply