ABC Drama dominates AWGIE winners

The ABC has dominated the TV wins at the 45th Annual Australian Writers’ Guild AWGIE Awards last night.

Amongst the winners were Mabo, The Slap, The Straits, Lowdown and Dance Academy.

The awards held at Doltone House in Sydney were hosted by John Doyle and celebrated the 50th anniversary of the Australian Writers’ Guild (AWG).

Other winners included Offspring, Good News Week and Home and Away.

Ian Simmons, head writer of Good News Week, received the Fred Parsons Award for Outstanding Contribution to Australian Comedy. Simmons has had a long career behind the scenes of some of Australia’s best comedy and was recognised for this as well as his contribution to mentoring young comedy writers through his work at GNW. Ian was also part of the Good News Week team who were awarded the AWGIE for Comedy – Sketch or Light Entertainment.

Other special awards included the Dorothy Crawford Award For Outstanding Contribution to the Profession, which went to Kim Williams AM, the Richard Lane Award For Outstanding Service and Dedication to the Australian Writers’ Guild, which was awarded to Graeme Koetsveld. Graeme Koetsveld was also awarded the Hector Crawford Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Craft in the Field of Script Editing.

The winner of the $30,000 Kit Denton Disfellowship was Angela Betzien.

The Sapphires was awarded top film prize for the night.

AWGIE winners are selected on script along, by those submitted by AWG members.


Telemovie – Original
Susan Smith

Television Mini Series – Original
The Straits
Blake Ayshford, Jaime Browne, Kristen Dunphy and Nicholas Parsons with Louis Nowra.

Television Mini Series – Adaptation
The Slap
Emily Ballou, Alice Bell, Brendan Cowell and Kris Mrksa with Cate Shortland

Comedy – Sketch or Light Entertainment
Good News Week: The State of the Nation
Mat Blackwell, Dave Bloustien, Simon Dodd, Bruce Griffiths, Warwick Holt, Paul Livingston and Ian Simmons

Comedy – Situation or Narrative
Lowdown: One Fine Gay
Amanda Brotchie, Trudy Hellier and Adam Zwar.

Television – Serial
Home and Away: Episode 5391
Fiona Bozic

Television – Series
Offspring: Episode 206
Michael Lucas

Flea-Bitten! – Home Truths
Raymond Boseley

Interactive Media
Michelle Law, Anthony Mullins, Chris Somerville and Lucas Taylor

Children’s Television – P Classification
Guess How Much I Love You: Follow Me
David Evans

Children’s Television – C Classification
Dance Academy: The Second
Samantha Strauss

Documentary – Public Broadcast
The Curse of the Gothic Symphony
Anthony Mullins and Randall Wood.


Australian Writers’ Guild
For Outstanding Service and Dedication to the Australian Writers’ Guild
Graeme Koetsveld

Australian Writers’ Guild
For Outstanding Contribution to the Profession
Kim Williams AM

Australian Writers’ Guild
For Outstanding Contribution to Australian Comedy
Ian Simmons

Australian Writers’ Guild
Outstanding Contribution to the Craft in the Field of Script Editing
‘For an Outstanding Contribution to the Craft via a Body of Script Editing Work’
Graeme Koetsveld


  1. as much as deserving the other winners are, i am more happy that Good News Week won. I just hope that they realise that it is a good show and bring it back!

  2. Secret Squirrel

    Channel Ten’s final hurrah – a show that it chopped and changed, expanded and contracted, moved around, bastardised, and finally cancelled wins an award.

  3. Congratulations to all winners.

    I look forward to some time in the future when the AWG cares enough about it’s mobility challenged members to move into readily accessible premises.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.