[V] Oz Artist: Top 50

Channel [V] has revealed its Top 50 Artists up for public voting in the annual [V] Oz Artist title for 2012.

First-time nominees include Alpine, Bleeding Knees Club, Chet Faker, San Cisco, The Rubens and Australian Idol graduate Matt Corby.

Voting is underway at vmusic.com.au with the winner to be announced on November 3rd.

Music’s biggest battle has descended on Australia with the cream of the crop of homegrown artists lining up to go head to head in the fight for the heavyweight title of the country’s favourite act. Channel [V] loves all Aussie music, no doubt, but there can only be one champion in [V] Oz Artist 2012. Fifty artists are in the running for the Award and the winner is decided by YOU. So troops, it’s time to pledge your allegiance and get in your favourite artist’s corner.

Celebrating its sixteenth year, [V] Oz Artist is the annual Channel [V] Award where you, the fans, have the chance to vote for the Australian act that’s numero uno in your eyes, with the result based entirely on viewer votes.

The Top 50 has been announced and the competition this year’s tighter than a hipster’s favourite pair of stovepipes. Boasting a metric tonne of star power we have the usual suspects – stalwarts of [V] Oz Artist if you will – Guy Sebastian, Hilltop Hoods, Sneaky Sound System and The Veronicas. However, there’s also a mix of first-time nominees and up-and-comers including the likes of Alpine, Bleeding Knees Club, Chet Faker, Matt Corby, San Cisco and The Rubens. Rapper 360 took out the Award in 2011 – can he make it two in a row? The power is in your hands so start voting now at vmusic.com.au.

Joining this illustrious list of local talent is the 2012 Wild Card entry in the Top 50, as voted by you. Ladies and Gentlemen, high fives all round please for Nine Sons of Dan, your [V] Oz Artist 2012 Wild Card! Hailing from the Gold Coast, this pop rock outfit renowned for their catchy hooks is touted as the next big thing in Aussie music. Having released two EPs and supported tours for a swag of artists such as Yellowcard, Children Collide and Hilltop Hoods, will the five-piece make some serious noise in the competition this year?

Daily eliminations are back for artists who are low on votes. Throughout each day we’ll announce which artists are at risk of going and fans will have until 5pm to save them by voting at vmusic.com.au. After three weeks, the Top 10 will be announced on Saturday November 3. Only your votes can help your artist win, so there’s no time to wait.

Now, voting for your favourite artist automatically makes you a legend, but we have another incentive for you to show some love. Every vote you make for [V] Oz Artist 2012 puts you in the draw to win our major prize: $10,000 cash! Plus minor prize winners can score rare artist memorabilia.*

After the Top 10 are decided, Channel [V] will announce the Top 4 Finalists on Saturday November 17, before the winner of [V] Oz Artist 2012 is revealed on Saturday December 8. The gents from Silverchair took out this Award six years in a row, The Veronicas and Guy Sebastian have also won and last year 360 ruled. Just who will be left holding the 2012 trophy come December 8? It’s up to YOU.

The gloves are off! Get in the ring and support for your favourite Aussie artist. Vote now at vmusic.com.au.

The [V] Oz Artist 2012 Top 10 will be announced live on The Riff, Saturday November 3 at 10.30am on Channel [V].

Angus Stone
Ball Park Music
Bleeding Knees Club
Boy & Bear
Chet Faker
Children Collide
Dappled Cities
Deep Sea Arcade
Delta Goodrem
DZ Deathrays
Flight Facilities
Guy Sebastian
Havana Brown
Hilltop Hoods
Jessica Mauboy
Jonathan Boulet
Justice Crew
Last Dinosaurs
Lisa Mitchell
Loon Lake
Matt Corby
Missy Higgins
Nine Sons of Dan (Wild Card)
Northeast House Part
Oh Mercy
Reece Mastin
Sam Sparro
San Cisco
Seth Sentry
Sneaky Sound System
Something For Kate
Stan Walker
The Getaway Plan
The Jezabels
The Potbelleez
The Presets
The Rubens
The Temper Trap
The Veronicas
Van She

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.