New cast join Redfern Now

2013-04-29_1624New cast members have been announced for the second season of ABC1’s Redfern Now.

They include Aaron Pederson, Craig McLachlan, Meyne Wyatt, Ernie Dingo, Steve Bisley, Sarah Woods and Tammy Clarkson.

Season one characters returning are those portrayed by Wayne Blair, Deborah Mailman, Ursula Yovich, Lisa Flanagan, Stephen Curry, Dean Daley Jones (pictured, left) and Leah Purcell (pictured, right).

Filming of the 6-part season begins in and around Redfern on Wednesday, written by Leah Purcell, Wayne Blair, John Bell, Adrian Russell Wills and Steven McGregor. It will be directed by Wayne Blair, Leah Purcell, Rachel Perkins, Beck Cole and Adrian Russell Wills.

Sally Riley, Head of ABC TV’s Indigenous Department said: “Redfern Now season two will again be a highlight in ABC Television’s schedule, with favourite characters returning, new families with dilemmas that will touch the hearts of audiences, and the wonderful storytelling by Australia’s leading Indigenous creatives.”

The acclaimed first series picked up awards including a Logie as Most Outstanding Drama and AACTA Awards for Leah Purcell and writer Steven McGregor.

Redfern Now is produced by Blackfella Films’ Darren Dale and Miranda Dear, with internationally acclaimed writer Jimmy McGovern as story producer.

Miranda Dear said, “We are so thrilled to have attracted a cast and crew of this calibre. It is a testament to the power of the writing, the resonance of the stories and the success of the first season.”


  1. Maev....Sydney

    Wow….all good actors….really anticipating this series…enjoyed the last ones…..
    Craig McLachlan is a busy boy…saw him in House Husbands recently.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.