2014 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards

PM's Literary Awards, hosted by Ray Martin, are Live on A-PAC & STUDIO, with highlights later on SBS ONE.

2014-05-30_2357The 2014 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards will air Live next Monday on A-PAC and STUDIO, hosted by Ray Martin.

A highlights package will follow later on SBS ONE, including the Prime Minister’s keynote speech, each award winner and commentary.

The event will also be replayed in full on A-PAC from 11pm and across the weekend.

The annual Prime Minister’s Literary Awards have been recognising and rewarding excellence in Australian literature and history since 2008. In that time 137 books have been shortlisted and 24 books have won.

The awards play an important role in celebrating the outstanding literary talent in Australia and the valuable contribution Australian literature makes to the nation’s cultural fabric.

The 2014 shortlist of 30 features some of Australia’s most significant and recognised writers, as well as gifted debut authors across all six award categories: fiction, poetry, non-fiction, Australian history, young adult fiction and children’s fiction.

The shortlists span many genres, styles and subjects, reflecting on contemporary Australian life, significant moments in Australian and world history as well as gripping readers with fictional stories that captivate young and old readers alike.

7:15pm AEDT Monday December 8 on A-PAC and STUDIO
10:15pm Monday December 8 SBS ONE

Leave a Reply