AACTA Awards 2015: nominations

Nominees include The Code, Please Like, Devil's Playground and INXS.

2014-09-08_1623ABC leads the Television nominees in the 4th annual AACTA Awards.

The Code leads with 10 nominations, including for Best Drama series, competing with Janet King, Rake and Puberty Blues.

Please Like Me carries six nominations, including for Best Comedy against It’s a Date, The Moodys, Shaun Micallef’s Mad as Hell and Utopia -all from ABC.

The Broken Shore, Carlotta and Rake all landed five nominations.

Acting nods include Richard Roxburgh, Luke Arnold, Ashley Zukerman, Dan Spielman, Kat Stewart Danielle Cormack and Marta Dusseldorp.

Other nominees include The Devil’s Playground Hamish & Andy’s Gap Year South America, Masterchef, The Voice, Get Ace and The Real Housewives of Melbourne.

AFI / AACTA CEO, Damian Trewhella, said, “This year has been a great year for the Academy, and a strong year for competition in our screen industry.

“The Academy has seen a five year high in the total number of entries (combined across all categories) for the 4th AACTA Awards, and we’ve achieved record high voting for the 4th AACTAs. The industry is engaged with the Academy and the Awards, and we know from research that AACTA Award wins and nominations create tangible results for the industry.

“The 4th AACTA Awards are set to be our biggest and best yet, comprising two days of new ‘Meet the Makers’ forums in addition to our two major Awards events, including our televised red carpet and AACTA Awards Ceremony. I encourage the industry and screen fans to come along to Sydney for a huge week of screen celebrations and forums.”

The 4th AACTA Awards Ceremony will be broadcast on Network TEN, Thursday 29 January 2015.

Best Drama series
The Code
Janet King
Puberty Blues

Best Miniseries / Telefeature
Devil’s Playground
INXS: Never Tear Us Apart
Secrets and Lies

Best Comedy
It’s a Date
The Moodys
Please Like Me
Shaun Micallef’s Mad as Hell

Lead Actor in a Television Drama
Luke Arnold, INXS – Never Tear Us Apart
Richard Roxburgh, Rake
Dan Spielman, The Code
Ashley Zukerman, The Code

Lead Actress in a Television Drama
Danielle Cormack, Wentworth
Ashleigh Cummings, Puberty Blues
Marta Dusseldorp, Janet King
Kat Stewart, Offspring

Best Light Entertainment
The Checkout,
Hamish & Andy’s Gap Year South America,
Paddock to Plate,
The Project

Best Children’s
The Flamin’ Thongs,
Get Ace,
Sam Fox – Extreme Adventures,
Worst Year of My Life, Again

Best Reality
MasterChef Australia,
The Voice Australia ,
The Voice Kids,
The X Factor

Best Performance in a Comedy
Patrick Brammall, The Moodys
Debra Lawrance, Please Like Me
Celia Pacquola, Utopia
Josh Thomas, Please Like Me

Best Guest or Supporting Actor in a Drama
Eamon Farren, Carlotta (ABC)
Andrew McFarlane, Devil’s Playground –
Andy Ryan, INXS – Never Tear Us Apart – Part 1
Dan Wyllie, Rake Series

Best Guest or Supporting Actress in a Drama
Charlotte Best, Puberty Blues
Piper Morrissey, Secrets & Lies
Chelsie Preston Crayford, The Code
Denise Roberts, Schapelle

Brilliant Creatures: Germaine, Clive, Barry & Bob
Margie Bryant, Dan Goldberg and Adam Kay

The Network
Eva Orner

Taking on the Chocolate Frog
Simon Steel and Debbie Cuell

Kath Shelper

Best Screenplay
The Code – Episode 1
Shelley Birse

The Moodys – Episode 1: Australia Day
Trent O’Donnell and Phil Lloyd

Please Like Me – Episode 2/07: Scroggin
Josh Thomas

Rake – Series 3 – Episode 1
Peter Duncan

Best Direction in Drama or Comedy
The Code – Episode 1
Shawn Seet

Devil’s Playground – Episode 1.4: The Forgiveness of Sins
Tony Krawitz

INXS – Never Tear Us Apart – Part 1
Daina Reid

Please Like Me – Episode 2/07: Scroggin
Matthew Saville

Best Direction in Light Entertainment or Reality
Black Comedy – Episode 3
Beck Cole and Craig Anderson

Hamish & Andy’s Gap Year South America – Episode 1: Week 1
Tim Bartley

MasterChef Australia – Series 6 – Episode 60: Grand Finale
Michael Venables

The Voice Australia – Episode 1: Blind Audition #1
Peter Ots


ANZAC Girls: Episode 6: Courage
Geoffrey Hall ACS

The Broken Shore
Martin McGrath ACS

Toby Oliver ACS

Janet King – Episode 6: Overtime
Joseph Pickering ACS

Best Editing
The Broken Shore (ABC)
Scott Gray ASE and Alexandre de Franceschi ASE

Official website
The Code – Episode 1
Deborah Peart ASE

Rake Series 3 – Episode 1
Henry Dangar ASE

The Real Housewives of Melbourne – Episode 1
Paula Zorgdrager

Best Sound
ANZAC Girls – Episode 6: Courage
Tom Heuzenroeder, Des Kenneally, Belinda Trimboli and Pete Best

The Broken Shore
John McKerrow

The Code – Episode 1
Gerry Duffy, Danielle Wiessner, Robert Sullivan and Grant Shepherd

Please Like Me – Episode 2/07: Scroggin
John Wilkinson and Simon Rosenberg

Original Music
The Broken Shore
Cezary Skubiszewski

The Code – Episode 1
Roger Mason

The Flamin’ Thongs – Episode 20: A Fright At The Opera
Keith C Moore

The Gods of Wheat Street – Episode 1: The Obligation
Jeff Lang

Best Production Design

ANZAC Girls – Episode 6: Courage (ABC)
Scott Bird

Murray Picknett

The Code – Episode 1
Michelle McGahey

Devil’s Playground – Episode 1.5: The Whirlwind and The Storm
Annie Beauchamp

Best Costume
The Broken Shore
Jeanie Cameron

Jenny Miles

The Outlaw Michael Howe
Xanthe Heubel

Upper Middle Bogan – Episode 3: Bonds and Stocks
Sandi Cichello

11 Responses

  1. Puberty was probably the best series by some way last year.

    Agree Roger, there seems to be a heap of decent shows missing nominations and some pretty average series receiving multiple.

    AACTA relevant as ever it seems.

  2. really – no Rockwiz, no Housos, no Legally Brown, No Full Brazilian, No Who Do You Think You Are, No First Contact, No Living With the Enemy? Isn’t this just a list of productions that payed the entry fee?
    If the ABC needs to find budget cuts here is an idea …

  3. Shocked that Offspring is not up for best drama series. Same goes for Asher Keddie.

    However I am happy to see some of the younger ones nominated for a change including Ashleigh Cummings and Charlotte Best. Also well done to the The Project and Masterchef for Ten.

    I hope Puberty Blues takes best drama series awards , however I feel it will be an ABC program as both AACTA and Logies seems to have an ABC bias for the Drama Series categories.

  4. glad that Rake and Janet King were up for a few nominations, including Best Drama and a few acting nods.

    Surprised to see The Time of our Lives not listed for any awards.

  5. When you have to pay a considerable amount to enter for nomination (a barrier for many local productions), how seriously can we take the AACTA awards?

  6. Really happy for the nods to Please Like Me, INXS, Carlotta (especially Eamon Farren) and Puberty Blues. Surprised Offspring isn’t up for Best Drama Series however and no nod for Asher Keddie.

Leave a Reply