Clarion Awards: winners


ABC has dominated the Clarion Awards, Queensland’s journalism awards, on the weekend.

ABC’s Kathy McLeish was named 2015 Queensland Journalist of Year for her coverage of the closure of Queensland’s Barrett mental health facility for adolescents at risk of suicide. Her report pushed the Queensland Government to announce a royal commission and an inquest into three deaths of young people.

She also shared the award for All Media Investigative Journalism with ABC colleagues Michael McKinnon and Heida Rexa.

ABC journalists won for best broadcast interview, rural and regional journalism, radio and television current affairs and social issues reporting. The ABC’s Alyse Edwards took out the award for New Journalist of the Year.

Seven News journalist, Max Futcher, and camera operator, Mark Michalek, won the Television News Report Award for the ‘Bali Executions’.

The John Bean Memorial Award for Television Camerawork was shared by Camera Operators, Daniel Burton, Lee Carseldine and Mark Deadman won for ‘Kokoda 2015’, commemorating the site of the battle fought by Australians in World War II.

Seven cameraman Peter Steer and Supervising Graphics Operator Sharni Hargrave were also awarded.

Stefan Armbruster from SBS World News won a Multicultural Queensland Award.

A full list of winners is here.

Photo: Twitter.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.