Seven to screen AFL Grand Final in HD

aflgf

Seven will screen the 2015 AFL Grand Final in High Definition.

Seven has announced it will simulcast the game on 7mate, alongside its primary channel, for the first time in 5 years.

Melbourne 9am Live on Channel 7
Adelaide 8.30am Live on Channel 7
Perth 7am Live on 7mate
Sydney 9am Live on Channel 7
Brisbane 9am Live on Channel 7

Melbourne 9am Live on 7mate in HD
Adelaide 8.30am Live on 7mate in HD
Perth 12pm Live on 7mate in HD
Sydney 2pm Live on 7mate in HD
Brisbane 2pm Live on 7mate in HD

The announcement will please AFL fans who have been rallying for High Definition for some time.

While the government recently legislated to allow networks to switch their primary channels to HD, there are still technical hurdles to overcome. While the AFL Grand Final must still air on the primary channel, there has been no rule against a HD simulcast. OzTAM ratings also allow numbers to be merged where a simulcast occurs.

Now Seven is responding to fan pleas, manoeuvring within the broadcast goalposts.

The move also throws down the gauntlet to Nine’s plans for the NRL Grand Final which also has not screened in HD in all cities for 5 years.

But Nine declined to comment this week when TV Tonight asked if it planned to offer the NRL Grand Final in High Definition.

Seven Sport’s Grand Final day coverage will include Bruce McAvaney, Dennis Cometti, Brian Taylor, Tim Watson, Leigh Matthews, Cameron Ling, Luke Darcy, Matthew Richardson, Wayne Carey, Hamish McLachlan, Basil Zempilas, Nick Maxwell and Andrew Welsh, along with Sam Lane and Mick Molloy.

Weekend Sunrise – 7am on Channel 7 in Melb, Perth, Syd, Bris and 6.30am in Adelaide
On Grand Final day, the football feast starts Live and Free on Seven with Sunrise hosts Andrew O’Keefe and Edwina Bartholomew from Federation Square.

AFL Game Day – 9am AEST Live on Channel 7, / 7mate in Melbourne, Adelaide, Perth
The Grand Final edition of AFL Game Day begins at 9am AEST, hosted by Hamish McLachlan and live from Federation Square. A stellar line-up including Steve Johnson, Jobe Watson, Jude Bolton, Nick Maxwell, Robert Murphy, Neil Kearney and Basil Zempilas look back on the season that was: the best marks and goals, the greatest controversies and the funniest moments.

AFL Pre-Game Show – 11am AEST Live on Channel 7 / 7mate in Melbourne, Adelaide, Perth
The Saturday Night Footy team takes over at 11am from Federation Square to preview the big game. Brian Taylor, Luke Darcy, Matthew Richardson, Cameron Ling, Sam Lane and Mick Molloy have a jam-packed line-up including Nathan Buckley, Bryan Adams, Alex Rance and Neale Daniher.

2015 AFL Grand Final – 2pm AEST Live on Channel 7 / 7mate in HD
The 2015 AFL Premiership season culminates at the MCG with the two best teams and 44 of its best players in front of 100,000 screaming fans and millions more watching on TV.

AFL Grand Final Post Game Show
Melbourne 6pm Live on 7mate
Adelaide 5.30pm Live on Channel 7, 6pm LIVE on 7mate
Perth 4pm Live on Channel 7
Sydney 6pm Live on 7mate
Brisbane 6pm Live on 7mate

After the final siren we return for the post-match analysis and coverage from inside the rooms.

Sunday October 4
AFL Game Day – 10am on Channel 7 in Melb, Adel and Perth and 7mate in Syd and Bris
Host Hamish McLachlan and Leigh Matthews, Jude Bolton and Nick Maxwell dissect all the action from the 2015 AFL Grand Final, along with all the latest news from Mark Stevens.

31 Comments:

  1. I’ve made a similar comment last year before. I personally don’t think it is fair that the AFL is shown outside primetime ratings whilst Nine will have a massive ratings win on the Sunday evening of NRL grand final.

  2. Well done to 7 to broadcast AFLGF in HD! Let’s do the same for 9 to simulcast the NRLGF onto GEM! And come on Perth, get the NRL presentations to be shown in HD. That way we don’t have to go straight to the news.

  3. What? How is this possible. All the people on this forum telling us that it was a legislative issue. Funny that. It wasn’t. They could have if they wanted to all along. Over to you channel 9 to do the same thing for the NRL on GEM.

    • TEN can’t simulcast Bathurst unless if they go in and out of the Bathurst coverage as they have premium motorsport to cover, which are contractually to be shown live on One

  4. spectrum warrior

    So why does the government need to change legislation if FTA can simulcast HD broadcasts?? sounds like they can do whatever they like with this government.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.