Matildas v China on 7mate

2016-03-08_2247

Tonight the Matildas face China in their Final Qualification Round for the Rio Olympics.

The match is hosted Live on 7mate by Jason Richardson, with Brenton Speed and former Matildas captain Melissa Barbieri in commentary.

A big swag of Australians have been watching the Matildas, with last night’s win on 7mate delivering a national combined peak audience of 400,000 – the highest of the four matches to date in the Olympic qualifying tournament. The four matches of the qualification tournament have now reached over 1.2 million people nationally.

Last night’s tense win over North Korea saw the Matildas strike early through Michelle Heyman.

The Australian women’s team held the lead in the face of some undisciplined tactics from the opposition, before the North Koreans levelled the score in the 78th minute.

A beautiful goal from Katrina Gorry then sealed it for the Matildas five minutes later, who now lead the group and are assured of a spot in Rio.

Sydney 9.30pm Live on 7mate
Melbourne 9.30pm Live on 7mate
Brisbane 8.30pm Live on 7mate
Adelaide 9pm Live on 7mate
Perth 6.30pm Live on 7mate

2 Comments:

  1. Secret Squïrrel

    I’ve enjoyed watching the Matildas play. They played with a lot of skill and finesse (and a bit of grunt) and gave a really good account of themselves, beating teams ranked above them.

    This is effectively a dead match since both Aus and China have already qualified for Rio. It’ll just be for bragging rights as to who finishes top of the table but I’ll still be watching.

    • Shoudy Chen

      Me too. The Australia v DPR Korea match at Osaka was the most exciting game on Monday. With Australia having 4 wins in the qualifiers, this will be a tough match against China. Lets make it 5 in a row.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.