Screen Music Awards 2016: nominees

The Beautiful Lie, Janet King, Peter Allen: Not the Boy Next Door and No Activity amongst nominees for screen composition.


Composers from The Beautiful Lie, Janet King, Peter Allen: Not the Boy Next Door, Tomorrow When the War Began and No Activity have been short-listed for the Screen Music Awards 2016.

The annual event held by as APRA AMCOS and the Australian Guild of Screen Composers has also shortlisted music from Here Come the Habibs, Secret City, DNA Nation, Glitch and Wanted.

Feature film nominees include Oddball, The Dressmaker, 99 Homes and Crew Cut.

“Our members are doing fantastic work in the film and television space, and the Screen Music Awards highlight and honour their talent and success,” Brett Cottle, Chief Executive APRA AMCOS said recently.

The Chaser’s Chris Taylor and Andrew Hansen will host their 5th ceremony, at Sydney’s City Recital Hall on Tuesday 8 November.

Conductor Ashley Irwin will lead a live orchestra.

TV and Related Categories:

Best Television Theme

Title Compass
Composed by Caitlin Yeo
Published by ABC Music Publishing

Title Here Come the Habibs
Composed by Kyls Burtland

Title Nos Youm
Composed by Peter Cavallo

Title Tomorrow When the War Began
Composed by Cameron Giles-Webb and Colin Simkins
Published by Universal Music Publishing obo Ambience Entertainment

Best Music for a Television Series or Serial

Title Glitch: There Is No Justice
Composed by Cornel Wilczek

Title Janet King: The Invisible Wound
Composed by Antony Partos
Published by Sonar Music

Title The Principal: Revolution School
Composed by Roger Mason

Title Wanted: Series 1 Episode 6
Composed by Michael Yezerski
Published by Red Music Publishing

Best Music for Children’s Television

Title Bottersnikes & Gumbles: Up, Up and Away
Composed by Michael Szumowski
Published by J Albert & Son and Cheeky Little Media

Title Mako: Island of Secrets: Homecoming
Composed by Ricky Edwards and Brett Aplin

Title Transformers Rescue Bots: The Last of Morocco
Composed by Christopher Elves
Published by Mushroom Music obo Britteridge Publishing / BMG Platinum Songs

Title The New Adventures of Figaro Pho: Odd Socks
Composed by Michael Darren, Luke Jurevicius and Christopher Larkin

Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie

Title DNA Nation
Composed by Matteo Zingales

Title Peter Allen: Not the Boy Next Door
Composed by Michael Yezerski and Ashley Irwin
Published by Shine Australia

Title Secret City
Composed by David Bridie
Published by Mushroom Music

Title The Beautiful Lie
Composed by Alan John

Best Music for a Documentary

Title Getting Frank Gehry
Composed by Caitlin Yeo

Title Neon
Composed by Antony Partos

Title Putuparri and the Rainmakers
Composed by David Bridie
Published by Mushroom Music

Title The Will to Fly
Composed by Tom Rouch
Published by Native Tongue Music Publishing

Best Original Song Composed for the Screen

Title Dancing in the Darkness from The Letdown
Composed by Darren Seltmann and Sally Seltmann*
Published by Sony ATV Music Publishing Australia*

Title Maurice’s Big Adventure from Big Adventure
Composed by Sean Peter
Published by ABC Music Publishing

Title Those Friends of Mine from Pawno
Composed by Tristan Dewey, Tai Jordan and Mark Pearl

Title When You Were on the Run from No Activity
Composed by Cameron Bruce

Leave a Reply

Cast your vote in the 15th TVT Awards