Screen Music Awards 2016: winners

Compositions from The Principal, The Beautiful Lie, The Letdown & The New Adventures of Figaro Pho awarded at annual music event.


Compositions from The Principal, The Beautiful Lie, The Letdown and The New Adventures of Figaro Pho were amongst winners recognised last night at the 2016 Screen Music Awards.

Chris Taylor and Andrew Hansen hosted the event at the City Recital Hall in Sydneys taged jointly by APRA AMCOS and the Australian Guild of Screen Composers. Presenters included Justine Clarke, Dave Stewart, Jon Stevens, Michael Dorman, Raelee Hill, Craig Hall, Fiona Cameron, Jeremy Lindsay-Taylor and Fraser Stark.

Antony Partos and Matteo Zingales took out the Feature Film Score of the Year award for the film 99 Homes. The TV categories also included a win for Lebanese series Nos Youm, with its theme scored by Aussie Peter Cavallo.


TV winners:

Best Music for a Television Series or Serial Title
The Principal
Composed by Roger Mason

Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie Title
The Beautiful Lie
Composed by Alan John

Best Original Song Composed for the Screen
Dancing in the Darkness from The Letdown
Composed by Darren Seltmann and Sally Seltmann*
Sony ATV Music Publishing Australia*

Best Music for a Documentary
Title Getting Frank Gehry
Composed by Caitlin Yeo

Best Television Theme
Title Nos Youm
Composed by Peter Cavallo

Best Music for Children’s Television
Title The New Adventures of Figaro Pho: Odd Socks
Composed by Michael Darren, Luke Jurevicius and Christopher Larkin

Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia
Composer Jay Stewart

Most Performed Screen Composer – Overseas
Composer Neil Sutherland


Leave a Reply

Cast your vote in the 15th TVT Awards