Seven & TEN awarded at ASC Media Awards

Seven and TEN were the big television winners at the Australian Sports Commission Media Awards last night in Melbourne.

TEN’s 2015-16 coverage of the Big Bash League and the Women’s Big Bash League won the Best Coverage Of A Sporting Event By A Media Organisation category and Best Coverage Of Women In Sport category, respectively.

Seven’s Bruce McAvaney won the best coverage of sport by an individual in broadcast media for a range of events including Olympic Games, AFL, Australian Open tennis and Melbourne Cup. Seven’s Olympics on 7 app and Rio 2016 Paralympic Games were also winners.

Rebecca Wilson was posthumously awarded the Lifetime achievement award for contribution to sports journalism.


TEN Chief Executive Officer, Paul Anderson, said: “We are very honoured to receive two 2016 ASC Media Awards and very proud of all our winners and nominees.

“The partnership of Cricket Australia and Network TEN has taken T20 cricket to a new level, with record attendances and huge television audiences across the Australian summer.

“Our KFC Big Bash League and Women’s Big Bash League on-air and production teams are world-class and both awards are a great recognition of their fantastic work.”

TEN Network Executive, BBL, David Barham, said: “The Women’s Big Bash League has been a revelation. Our strong commitment to what is a fast developing and critically important part of cricket in Australia has been important in the growth of this competition. We are very proud of the way we have covered it and delighted to be recognised for that.

“TEN has taken T20 cricket to a whole new audience and brought innovation to the way cricket is seen on television. Our exciting and contemporary on-air teams have changed the way cricket is broadcast, in both the men’s and women’s games, bringing entertainment and sport together in a unique way.”

Seven’s Head of Sport Saul Shtein commented: “These awards are a tribute for the hard work and creativity from the entire team at Seven. Our crew has worked incredibly hard to create indelible images that build their own story and create their own place in history as they unfold live on TV and multiple screens across Australia. And this is a great reward for that effort.”

TV and related winners:

Best coverage of sport by an individual – broadcast: Bruce McAvaney, Seven Network

Best coverage of a sporting event by a media organization: 2015-16 Big Bash League, Network Ten

Best coverage of sport for people with disability: Rio 2016 Paralympic Games, Seven Network

Best coverage of women in sport: 2015-16 Women’s Big Bash League, Network Ten

Best profiling of an athlete, team or coach – broadcast media: “True Grit” – David Pocock; Winsome Denyer, Tim Wilson and Marc Smith, Australian Story, ABC

Best depiction of the value of sport to Australians in a community setting: From Little Things; Tim Sheridan, Matt Weiss, Fox Footy

Best contribution to sport by an organisation through digital media: Olympics on 7, Seven Network


  1. Well I’m very happy that 7Olympics has won the award by an organisation through digital media. It’s coverage has improved with three multi channels. Hope 7 win the award in the IOC

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.