AACTA Awards 2017: nominees

Nominees include Blue Murder, Janet King, Australian Survivor, Ninja Warrior & Utopia.

Nominees have been announced in the 7th AACTA Awards.

Drama Series
Janet King
Top of the Lake: China Girl

Best Telefeature or Mini-series
Blue Murder: Killer Cop
Seven Types of Ambiguity
Wake in Fright

Best Television Comedy Series
No Activity
True Story With Hamish & Andy (Nine Network)

Reality Series
Australian Survivor
Little Big Shots
MasterChef Australia
My Kitchen Rules

Best Light Entertainment Television Series
Australian Ninja Warrior
Hard Quiz
Julia Zemiro’s Home Delivery

Casting JonBenét
David Stratton: A Cinematic Life
Deep Water: The Real Story
Zach’s Ceremony

Destination Flavour Singapore
Gourmet Farmer
Grand Designs Australia
Selling Houses Australia

Little Lunch
Mustangs FC
Nowhere Boys: Two Moons Rising
The Wild Adventures of Blinky Bill

Lead Actor in a Television Drama:
David Dencick, Top of the Lake: China Girl
Sean Keenan, Wake in Fright
Richard Roxburgh, Blue Murder: Killer Cop
Hugo Weaving, Seven Types of Ambiguity

Lead Actress in a Television Drama:
Toni Collette, Blue Murder: Killer Cop
Marta Dusseldorp, Janet King
Elisabeth Moss, Top of the Lake: China Girl
Pamela Rabe, Wentworth

Best Performance in a Television Comedy:
Daren Gilshenan, No Activity
Debra Lawrance, Please Like Me
Celia Pacquola, Rosehaven
Rob Sitch, Utopia

Guest or Supporting Actor in a Television Drama:
Anthony LaPaglia, Sunshine
Ewan Leslie, Top of the Lake: China Girl
Matt Nable, Blue Murder: Killer Cop
David Wenham, Wake in Fright

Guest or Supporting Actress in a  Television Drama:
Emma Booth, Blue Murder: Killer Cop
Tina Bursill, Doctor Doctor
Andrea Demetriades, Seven Types of Ambiguity
Nicole Kidman, Top of the Lake: China Girl

Direction in a Television Drama or Comedy:
Leah Purcell, Cleverman
Matthew Saville, Please Like Me
Glendyn Ivin, Seven Types of Ambiguity
Jane Campion, Top of the Lake: China Girl

Direction in Light Entertainment or Reality:

Australian Ninja Warrior, Gary Deans
Australian Survivor, Richard Franc
Julia Zemiro’s Home Deliverym Damian Davis
MasterChef Australia, Richard Franc

Best Screenplay in Television:
No Activity, Trent O’Donnell
Rosehaven, Celia Pacquola, Luke McGregor
Seven Types of Ambiguity, Jacquelin Perske
Utopia, Santo Cilauro, Tom Gleisner, Rob Sitch

Best Cinematography in Television:

Blue Murder: Killer Cop, Bruce Young
Seven Types of Ambiguity, Bonnie Elliott
Top of the Lake: China Girl, Germain McMicking
Wake in Fright, Geoffrey Hall

Best Editing in Television:
Blue Murder: Killer Cop, 
Bill Russo
MasterChef Australia, Karen Crespo
Seven Types of Ambiguity, Joe Rodrigo
Utopia, Phil Simon, Santo Cilauro

Best Sound in Television:
Cleverman, Tim Chaproniere, Emile De La Ray, Matt Stutter, Paul Brincat, Nigel Scott, Chris Sinclair
Seven Types of Ambiguity, Stephen Witherow, Justin Lloyd, Ian MacWilliams, Dan Young, Nigel Croyden, Stefan Kluka
Top of the Lake: China Gir, Luke Mynott, David Lee, Tony Vaccher
Wake in Fright, Stephen Smith, Liam Price, Paul Brincat, Shanti Burn

Music Score in Television:
Blue Murder: Killer Cop, John Gray
Cleverman, Samuel Scott, Conrad Wedde, Lukasz Buda
Top of the Lake: China Girl, Mark Bradshaw
Wake in Fright, Antony Partos, Matteo Zingales

Production Design in Television:
A Place to Call Home, Fiona Donovan
Blue Murder: Killer Cop, Murray Picknett
Seven Types of Ambiguity, Jo Ford
Top of the Lake: China Girl Annie Beauchamp – Foxtel/BBC First

Costume Design in Television:
A Place to Call Home, Lisa Meagher
Blue Murder: Killer Cop, Damir Peranovic
Top of the Lake: China Girl, Emily Seresin
Wake in Fright, Mariot Kerr

Winners will be ­announced on Wednesday December 6, screening on Seven, with some announced at a Luncheon on Monday December 4.

TV Tonight is a partner of the 7th AACTA Awards.

5 Responses

    1. Look at what it’s competing with – the disappointingly pedestrian Seven Types of Ambiguity, the earnest but otherwise bollocks Cleverman, the pantomime tough woman Janet King, the confused and niche Glitch, and the shadow of the original Blue Murder. Of course it’s going to crack a few noms.

      The really disappointing thing about these disappointing dramas is how many of them were on the ABC. Disappointing!

  1. OK, so every awards list always has weird snubs, so I’ll start the conversation with my top three:
    * No nominations in any category for Get Krackin’?
    * Please Like Me wins the Logie for best comedy and doesn’t even crack it for a nomination for best comedy at the AACTAs?
    *How is LIttle Big Shots a reality show and not light entertainment?

Leave a Reply