Film Vic: Screen Leader Awards 2017

Film Victoria hosted its annual Screen Leader Awards last night recognising four industry faces for outstanding achievements.

Writer, Producer and Director Robert Connolly received the 2017 John Howie Award, The 2017 Fred Schepisi Award was presented to acclaimed director Kate Dennis, writer Kris Mrksa received the 2017 Jan Sardi Award and Indian Film Festival director Mitu Bhowmick Lange was awarded the 2017 Jill Robb Award.

Outgoing Film Victoria CEO Jenni Tosi said,”These awards are our way of acknowledging four highly talented creatives who have all played a significant role in enhancing Victoria’s reputation as a vibrant creative and cultural hub, where great content is made. We’re incredibly lucky to have such a huge pool of talent working here in Victoria and we look forward to a bumper year in 2018.”

Jenni Tosi was also farewelled after 10 years with the agency.

“It has been an honour and a privilege to work at Film Victoria and see the Victorian screen industry strengthen its position over the past 10 years. In particular my time as CEO role has been immensely rewarding,” she said.

My sincere thanks to the Board and fantastic team at Film Victoria and to the many production partners, collaborators, writers, directors, producers, technicians, businesses, state and federal government colleagues who have helped contribute to Victoria’s success. It’s been an absolute pleasure to work with all of you and I look forward to continue serving the industry in other ways in the future.”

NB: Producer Imogen Banks accepted on behalf of Kate Dennis.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.