Producer Michael McMahon to receive Lifetime Achievement Award

Matchbox Pictures exec & co-founder has a career spanning 30 years including The Slap, Nowhere Boys & Ali’s Wedding.

Matchbox Pictures Executive Chairman, Michael McMahon, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award at the 18th Annual Screen Producers Australia Awards in November.

McMahon has career spanning over 30 years. Starting in the industry as an entertainment lawyer, he produced his first short, Cruel Youth, in 1988 and has since been the producing force behind many of Australia’s critically acclaimed features, documentaries and television dramas, including Ali’s Wedding (2017), The Slap (2011) and Nowhere Boys (2013).

After forming Big and Little Films with Tony Ayres in 1999, both went on to co-found Matchbox Pictures with Helen Bowden, Penny Chapman and Helen Panckhurst in 2009. McMahon has served on boards for Screen Tasmania and Film Victoria, recently teaching at Swinburne University and the University of South Australia.

SPA notes he is drawn to stories that explore the lives of those forced to fight for what they believe, creating a unified sense of community within his all projects.

“The Lifetime Achievement Award acknowledges an individual’s lifetime contribution to enriching Australian culture through their work in the screen industry. Michael has a passion for social justice and a reputation for championing stories that highlight the diversity of human experience, and I congratulate him on this latest accolade,” said Screen Producers Australia, CEO, Matthew Deaner.

One Response

Leave a Reply