Big Bash League on FOX Cricket

FOX Cricket yesterday launched its Big Bash League, with Shane Warne and commentators Jess Yates, Sarah Olle and Sarah Jones in Melbourne.

Coverage begins tonight at the Gabba.

FOX Cricket will showcase all 61 games Live and ad-break free with 16 fixtures also exclusively available in 4K on FOX Sports Ultra HD (channel 508), including Christmas Eve and the Melbourne derby, turned Grand Final rematch, on January 4 at the MCG.

Other key games include New Year’s Eve in Adelaide, the Australia Day double-header and the all-new finals system to feature will produce rivalry like no other this summer.

In commentary for FOX Cricket across the season will be experts Adam Gilchrist, Shane Warne, Isa Guha, Michael Vaughan, Brett Lee, Andrew Symonds, Mark Waugh, Mike Hussey, Mel Jones, Kerry O’Keeffe, Brad Haddin and Brendon Julian alongside Hosts and sideline reporters Jess Yates, Sarah Jones, Kath Loughnan, Megan Barnard, Sarah Olle and Tom Morris.

Superstar Australian Test batsman David Warner will join the team in the commentary box this Wednesday night for the Sydney Sixers vs Perth Scorchers Live from 6.30pm.

On the field all the big names will roll out to add to the excitement of the Big Bash with marquee players AB de Villiers and Dale Steyn lining up in a blockbuster list that includes Aaron Finch, Glenn Maxwell, Chris Lynn, Steve Smith, Nathan Lyon, Rashid Khan and England T20 star Tom Banton. FOX Cricket is the only place to see every AB de Villiers match, with three games exclusive on FOX Cricket.

Supporting FOX Cricket’s Live BBL coverage will be magazine programs B4 The Bash and The Night Watchmen this summer. B4 The Bash will lead off every day of a BBL Live broadcast and The Night Watchmen will capture the lighter side of the game with The Professor and Barney following BBL fixtures on Friday nights during the regular season.

So You Think You Can Commentate returns for BBL|09 with one lucky winner getting to call two Live overs alongside Shane Warne in the FOX Cricket commentary box.

Tues, Dec 17 Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Thunder 6.30pm

Wed, Dec 18 Sydney Sixers vs Perth Scorchers 6.30pm David Warner special guest commentator

Thurs, Dec 19 Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Thunder 6.30pm
Fri, Dec 20 Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney Sixers 2.15pm
Brisbane Heat vs Melbourne Stars 6.30pm
The Night Watchmen 10.30pm Brett Lee and Morne Morkel

Sat, Dec 21 Sydney Thunder vs Adelaide Strikers 5.30pm Exclusive to FOX Cricket
Perth Scorchers vs Melbourne Renegades 9.00pm Exclusive to FOX Cricket

Sun, Dec 22 Melbourne Stars vs Hobart Hurricanes 2.15pm


  1. This year was a combination of either:
    – Fox Cricket commentators live from the ground, or
    – Fox Cricket hosts in the studio with programming pre-game, at the innings break, and post-game then throwing to the Channel 7 broadcast for commentary during the game.

    At least this year, they didn’t try to commentate from the studio while taking the channel 7 vision. That looked horrible last season every time channel 7 would show a shot of their commentary box or the player they were talking to on the mic but the audio wouldn’t match.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.