First Nations Media Awards 2019: winners

Freda Glynn & First Nations Media Australia Chair Dot West

The First Nations Media Awards were held at the Old Quarry, just outside Mparntwe (Alice Springs) on Friday night.

Hosted by First Nations Media Australia and the Central Australian Aboriginal Media Association (CAAMA), the event recognised excellence in all forms of media production.

Around 150 guests attended the event, compered by Lola Forester (Koori Radio) and Bernard Namok Jnr (TEABBA).

The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Freda Glynn, who was a founder of CAAMA and then Imparja Television.

“Just looking around, and watching in the last few days, the group working together, I know with all the praises that you give me, I’ve left it in good hands,” she said.

“I was so excited walking around yesterday and seeing everybody so busy, everybody there, so excited about what you’re going to do next. It’s all going to be just keeping that momentum up and loving what you do, because I must tell you I loved every minute of CAAMA. And watching it grow and watching the influence it’s had around the country, I can watch all the channels and hear all the radio and films and I just think, wait until they see us in another 10 years, you wait Australia, we’ve got stories to tell.”

TV and related categories:

Lifetime Achievement Award
Freda Glynn

First Nations Media Legend Award
John Macumba

Outstanding Contributor Award
Wayne Bynder

Recognition of Contribution
Daniel Featherstone

Best Training and Professional Development Award
Goolarri Media

Best Interview or Oral History
NITV – Living Black for Karla Grant’s interview with Jack Charles about homelessness

Best Community Television Documentary Award
Jade Runner by Nevanka McKeon

Best Television Documentary Feature Award
She Who Must Be Loved

Source: Mediaweek

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.