ADG Awards online, open to public.

Director's Guild Awards to be hosted virtually by Skitbox’s Sarah Bishop & Greta Lee Jackson.

The Australian Directors’ Guild today confirmed further details around their 2020 Awards which are being presented online on Monday October 19, due to the pandemic.

Skitbox’s Sarah Bishop and Greta Lee Jackson (pictured) will host the virtual event which is designed for home viewing and open to public. There will be musical acts throughout the 90-minute ceremony and clips from all the nominated productions.

ADG Executive Director Diana Burnett said: “The ADG Awards are so important to Australian directors but, unless there is continued regulation to support Australian content on our screens, this could be the last time we are able to celebrate the achievements of our own work. Our industry is currently under threat, and there is a real possibility that we may not see any new Australian dramas, documentaries or children’s television on our screens next year and the years to come if the government doesn’t step in with regulation come January 2021.”

The Awards celebrate the outstanding work of Australian screen directors over the past year across 19 categories including film, television, online, music and advertising. A record 202 entries were received this year, up from 117 in 2019.

The ADG also announced today that the Australian film industry’s dedicated website development and social media management company – Kaleidoscope Digital is offering a $1000 Screen Director’s Identity Package to the winner of the Online Comedy Series Award.

Kaleidoscope join 2020 ADG Awards sponsor Panavision. Panavision will present prizes for two awards this year. The winner of Best Direction in a Short Film will receive a $5,000 Camera Package. The winner of Best Direction in a Feature Film made under $1 million will receive a $10,000 Camera Package.

Streaming will be available via the ADG website: https://adg.org.au/awards and via social media @ABCTV and @AustralianDirectorsGuild.

Australian Directors Guild Awards 2020: nominees

Leave a Reply