AACTAs add TV to international awards

AACTA members can now vote in 4 new global TV categories.

The AACTA Awards have added four television categories to their upcoming AACTA International Awards.

These are voted by members to be presented on Saturday 6 March, usually in LA.

“Since March 2020, the pandemic has accelerated the streaming boom with many of us hungry for content during lockdown. While we were forced to stay home to curb the spread of coronavirus, binge viewing brought us together and gave us a sense of connection, and we experienced not only a change in the way we consume content but also the speed of our consumption,” said AACTAs in a statement.

“To acknowledge the rise in our consumption of international Streaming & TV Series, we are including four new Series categories in our upcoming AACTA International Awards including Best Drama Series, Best Comedy Series, Best Actor in a Series and Best Actress in a Series.”

The four categories have pre-determined lists for members to choose their favourites, which skews to US / UK titles. Voting is not open to general public.

Best Drama
The 100
Better Call Saul
The Bold Type
The Boys
Cobra Kai
The Crown
Dirty John
Doctor Who
The Good Lord Bird
His Dark Materials
I Know This Much Is True
I May Destroy You
Killing Eve
Little Fires Everywhere
Lovecraft Country
The Mandalorian
Mrs America
Mystery Road
Normal People
The Queens Gambit
Raised By Wolves
Star Trek Discovery
This Is Us
The Umbrella Academy
The Undoing

Best Comedy
Aunty Donna’s Big Ol House Of Fun
The Babysitters Club
Big Mouth
Bojack Horseman
Curb Your Enthusiasm
Dead To Me
Emily In Paris
F Is For Family
The Flight Attendant
Grace And Frankie
The Good Place
The Great
Lol: Last One Laughing
Ricky And Morty
Schitt’s Creek
Sex Education
Ted Lasso
What We Do In The Shadows
Why Women Kill

Best Actor
Robbie Amell Upload
Jason Bateman Ozark
Matt Berry What We Do In The Shadows
Don Cheadle Black Monday
Ricky Gervais Afterlife
Hugh Grant The Undoing
Harvey Guillen What We Do In The Shadows
William Jackson Harper The Good Place
Nicholas Hoult The Great
Daniel Levy Schitts Creek
Eugene Levy Schitts Creek
Ralph Macchio Cobra Kai
Paul Mescal Normal People
Josh O’Conner The Crown
Bob Odenkirk Better Call Saul
Al Pacino Hunters
Rege-Jean Page Bridgerton
Pedro Pascal The Mandalorian
Aaron Pedersen Mystery Road
Matthew Rhys Perry Mason
Mark Ruffalo I Know This Much Is True
Robert Sheehan The Umbrella Academy
Jason Sudekis Ted Lasso
Donald Sutherland The Undoing
Ramy Youssef Ramy
William Zabka Cobra Kai

Best Actress
Andy Allo Upload
Gillian Anderson The Crown
Christine Applegate Dead To Me
Cate Blanchett Mrs America
Aya Cash The Boys
Michaela Coel I May Destroy You
Olivia Coleman The Crown
Lily Collins Emily In Paris
Jodie Comer Killing Eve
Emma Corrin The Crown
Kaley Cuoco The Flight Attendant
Rosario Dawson The Mandalorian
Noma Dumezweni The Undoing
Phoebe Dynevor Bridgerton
Daisy Edgar-Jones Normal People
Maya Erskine Pen15
Elle Fanning The Great
Nicole Kidman The Undoing
Jane Levy Zoey’s Extraorinary Playlist
Laura Linney Ozark
Catherine O’Hara Schitts Creek
Anna Paquin Flack
Sarah Paulson Ratched
Sarah Paulson Mrs America
Rhea Seehorn Better Call Saul
Anya Taylor Joy The Queens Gambit
Zendaya Euphoria

TV Tonight is a partner of the 2020 AACTA Awards.

2 Responses

Leave a Reply