AIDC Awards 2021: nominees

Nominees have been announced for The Australian International Documentary Conference Awards.

Michaela Perske has also been awarded the annual Stanley Hawes Award 2021.

Alice Burgin, CEO/Conference Director, AIDC said, “The response to the inaugural AIDC Awards was absolutely overwhelming, demonstrating how important and necessary celebrating completed documentary and factual works really is. We were astounded by how many submissions we had and the incredible quality of works across all six categories. I want to congratulate the twenty nominees, and thank all our generous partners and the indefatigable jury – without whom we could never have done this,”

Stanley Hawes Award 2021
This year’s winner of the Stanley Hawes Award is Michaela Perske, the company director and principal producer of Pursekey Films. Originally trained as a journalist, Michaela has over 20 years of media experience in all areas of radio, print and TV. Since turning her mind to factual content creation, Michaela has produced engaging, challenging and enlightening films including Girls Can’t Surf, Black Divas, After the Apology and Destination Arnold. With this award, AIDC acknowledges her outstanding contribution to the Australian documentary and factual sector.

The Stanley Hawes Award was established in 1997 to honour documentary producer and director Stanley Hawes, Producer-in-Chief of the Australian National Film Board and Commonwealth Film Unit from 1946-1969 – and recognises the significant support he gave independent filmmakers in the documentary sector. Since its inception, 22recipients have been recognised for their outstanding contribution to the documentary and factual sector in the tradition of Stanley Hawes. The recipient receives a $5,000 cash prize.

TV and related categories:

Best Feature Documentary

The Australian Dream
Daniel Gordon, Good Thing Productions & Passion Pictures, Australia/UK, 2019.

Brazen Hussies
Catherine Dwyer, Philippa Campey, Andrea Foxworthy, Film Camp, Australia, 2020.

Firestarter – The Story of Bangarra
Nel Minchin, Wayne Blair, Ivan O’Mahoney, In Films, Australia, 2020.

The Leunig Fragments
Kasimir Burgess, Philippa Campey, Film Camp, Australia, 2019.

Best Documentary / Factual Series

Love on the Spectrum
Cian O’Clery, Jenni Wilks, Karina Holden, Northern Pictures Australia, 2019.

Miriam Margolyes Almost Australian
Liz Allen, Ross Wilson, Laurie Critchley, Southern Pictures, Australia, 2020.

Nial Fulton and Sarah Ferguson, In Films, Australia, 2020

Best Documentary / Factual Single

Laurence Billiet in collaboration with Stephen Page, General Strike & Matchbox Pictures, Australia, 2020.

Maralinga Tjarutja
Larissa Behrendt, Darren Dale, Jacob Hickey, Blackfella Films, Australia, 2020

Looky Looky Here Comes Cooky
Steven McGregor, Steven Oliver, Anna Grieve, Danielle McLean, Steve Thomas, Kath Symmons, Tamarind Tree Pictures & Roar Film, Australia, 2020.

Best Interactive / Immersive Documentary

Joseph Purdam, PHORIA, Australia, USA, United Kingdom, 2020.

Mt Resilience
Emma Morris, PHORIA & ABC in partnership with CSIRO & BOM, Australia, 2020

Story Line
Mike Clay, Rebecca Metcalf, John-Paul Marin, The Feed & SBS Creative Labs, Australia, 2020

The Australian International Documentary Conference will run 28 February – 3 March as an online event in 2021.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.