UK chooses Embers as Eurovision entry

“I wanted to write an upbeat and positive song that people could have a party to," says James Newman.

James Newman will perform Embers as the United Kingdom’s entry into the Eurovision Song Contest 2021.

Newman was due to represent the UK last year before the pandemic caused the show’s cancellation.

This song was co-written by Newman, Conor Blake, Danny Shah, Tom Hollings, Samuel Brennan.

James Newman says: “I wanted to write an upbeat and positive song that people could have a party to, it’s about the spark between people who love each other. Just because you don’t see the people you care about all the time, doesn’t mean that spark isn’t there.”

James Newman is a hugely successful Brit Award-winning and Grammy-nominated songwriter. James won a Brit for British Single Of The Year for Waiting All Night, performed by Rudimental and Ella Eyre. He has also written certified platinum hit singles Lay It All On Me, performed by Rudimental ft Ed Sheeran; Blame, performed by Calvin Harris ft. John Newman; and Therapy, performed by Armin Van Buuren and James Newman.

Last year James co-wrote My Last Breath with acclaimed British songwriters Ed Drewett, Iain James and Adam Argyle, which was the song entered by the UK in last year’s competition before it was postponed. James released his debut EP The Things We Do in summer 2020 and ended the year with another new collaboration with Armin Van Buuren, Slow Lane. As well as UK success, James has also been Grammy nominated twice, co-writing Coping from Toni Braxton’s Grammy nominated album Sex & Cigarettes, and Let ‘Em Talk from Kesha’s Grammy-nominated album Rainbow.

5 Responses

    1. Well as an example “Arthur’s Theme (Best That You Can Do)” was penned by Christopher Cross, Burt Bacharach, Carole Bayer Sager, Peter Allen. Kylie’s “Spinning Around” was written by Ira Shickman, Osborne Bingham, Kara DioGuardi and Paula Abdul. Just 2 examples.

  1. Certainly the UK’s best every in some years, but in a year heavy on up-tempo songs, it kind of just blends in.
    My guess is that it’s Switzerland for the win this year following their entry dropping earlier this week.

Leave a Reply