AFI AACTA announces new Chair, Board members.

Jack Christian becomes new AFI ACCTA Chair, while Noni Hazlehurst and Margaret Pomeranz exit the board after many years.

Jack Christian has been announced the new Chairperson of the Australian Film Institute, the governing body of the Australian Academy of Cinema & Television Arts.

Keith Rodger who has served as acting Chairperson for the past 12 months, will remain on the Board.

Both Noni Hazlehurst and Margaret Pomeranz exit the board after many years with incoming Board members, Nadia Tass, Jo Smith, Amanda Laing and Tony Petani.

Christian has served on the AFI Board since 2020. His career spans two decades, financing film and TV series as the founder and CEO of global financier Filmology Finance.

“I am profoundly honoured and humbled to take on the role of Chairperson for the AFI AACTA,” said Christian. “This Academy represents the pinnacle of cinematic and television artistry in Australia, and it’s a privilege to be given an opportunity to shape its direction and future. As we chart the course ahead, I am acutely aware of the responsibility and trust placed in me by my peers and the larger AFI AACTA community. Together, we’ll continue celebrating the profound stories our industry tells and expand our reach, ensuring Australian cinema and television are recognized and revered globally.

“A sincere thanks to Keith Rodger for his unwavering dedication and guidance. His extensive contributions during his interim term have continued to help fortify the AFI AACTA foundations.”

At the AFI’s recent AGM, industry pioneers Nadia Tass and Jo Smith were both elected to the Board. Tass is only the second woman ever to receive the AFI Award for Best Director, for Malcolm, sharing a Best Film win with David Parker. Smith, making a return to the Board after a two-year hiatus, is the steward of the Regal Cinema in Newcastle.

Foxtel Group’s Chief Content & Commercial Officer and Binge Managing Director, Amanda Laing, has been appointed to the board along with Tony Petani. Jennifer Huby and Darren Dale have been reappointed.

Amanda Laing, Chief Content & Commercial Officer, Foxtel Group & Managing Director Binge, said, “I am honoured to join the AFI Board and such an esteemed group of board members. I take it on with great responsibility to help drive our Australian film and television culture, and the remarkable stories we produce, forward. I would also like to recognise my colleague and friend, the late Brian Walsh, who made a significant contribution to the Australian film and television industry, over many years as an AFI Board member.”

AFI AACTA CEO, Damian Trewhella said, “I extend heartfelt appreciation to Noni Hazlehurst and Margaret Pomeranz for their steadfast devotion and service to AFI AACTA. Their substantial endeavours have bolstered the Academy’s bedrock, propelling us towards a trajectory of success. I’d also like to honour and remember the long-serving AFI AACTA Board member, Brian Walsh, who sadly passed earlier this year and whose notable contributions have been a beacon as we venture on a path that seeks to build upon his remarkable legacy.”

The AFI Board is made of Jack Christian (Chair), Alan Finney, Nadia Tass, Jo Smith, Amanda Laing, Darren Dale, Keith Rodger, Jennifer Huby and Tony Petani. The Board is supported by the AACTA Management team and is led by President, Russell Crowe, Vice President Nicole Kidman, Patron Dr. George Miller, and Ambassador Cate Blanchett.

Leave a Reply