ABC wins for Paralympics

parThe ABC has won a media award from the International Paralympic Committee for its coverage of the Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games.

ABC TV has won the IPC’s media award for the ‘Broadcast’ category -one of just four awards it bestowed.

ABC also won the award for its coverage of the Turin 2006 Winter Paralympic Games.

Acting Head of ABC TV Sport & Events, Mr Justin Holdforth said, “The award is just recognition for all the hard work and diligence put in by a team of committed individuals.

“A team of 42 travelled to Beijing and they produced over 100 hours of live coverage.”

The coverage was hosted by Adam Hills, Paralympic Gold Medallist Louise Sauvage, and ABC Sport presenters Karen Tighe and Steve Robilliard.

The award will be presented in Kuala Lumpur in November.

The other winners were:

Written (Print/Online): The Sunday Telegraph (GBR)
Radio: BBC Radio (GBR)
Photo: Damir Sencar (CRO)

ABC is also planning to broadcast daily coverage of the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games from March 12th – 21st.


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.