T20 International Women on Seven

Seven and 7mate will screen the T20 International Women tomorrow when the Aussie Women’s Cricket Team as they take on New Zealand’s White Ferns this weekend.

Seven’s commentary team will be led by Elyse Villani, Belinda Clark, Mel Jones, Holly Ferling, Erin Holland, Brad Hodge, Damien Fleming, Jason Richardson and Andy Maher.

Head of Network Sport Lewis Martin said, “The national women’s cricket team has a special place in Australians’ hearts. We all rejoiced when they won the T20 World Cup before 87,000 adoring fans at the MCG and – after a long wait – we now finally get to see them in action again. And with a star-studded New Zealand team just itching to cause an upset, we’re bound to see limited-overs cricket at its thrilling and explosive best on Seven.”

Cricket superstars Alyssa Healy, Ellyse Perry and Meg Lanning are poised to return to the field as Australia’s World Cup-winning women’s team takes on the might of New Zealand in back-to-back T20I and ODI series on Seven, starting this Saturday Live and Free from Queensland’s Allan Border Field.

The limited-overs action kicks off at 1.30pm AEST Saturday on Channel 7 and 7mate, when the Aussies and White Ferns square off in the first match of a three-game T20I series.

Prior to the match, Seven’s broadcast and players from both sides will pay tribute to Australian Test and ODI great Dean Jones, following the dashing batsman’s tragic death in India yesterday.

The Aussie team will be playing for the first time since its emphatic triumph in March’s T20 World Cup Final at the MCG, when Healy thrilled the crowd of 87,000 with a stunning 75-run knock off 39 balls that included a whopping five sixes.

Boasting WBBL stars such as Sophie Devine, Amy Satterthwaite, Suzie Bates and Lea Tahuhu, New Zealand has the class and fire power to trouble the Aussies, as they did in the T20 World Cup group stage when they fell just four runs short in a thrilling run chase.

The Aussies and White Ferns will back up for a second T20 game on Sunday – also on Channel 7 and 7mate at 1.30pm AEST – before the series finishes next Wednesday, September 30.

The trans-Tasman rivals then switch to the 50-over format with a three-game ODI series at Allan Border Field that starts on Saturday, October 3, with subsequent matches on Monday, October 5, and Wednesday, October 7.

Saturday September 26

WT20 International – Match 1
Australia v New Zealand
Allan Border Field
Sydney 1.30pm Live on Channel 7
Melbourne 1.30pm Live on Channel 7
Brisbane 1.30pm Live on Channel 7
Adelaide 1.00pm Live on Channel 7
Perth 11.30am Live on Channel 7

Sunday September 27

WT20 International – Match 2
Australia v New Zealand
Allan Border Field
Sydney 1.30pm Live on Channel 7
Melbourne 1.30pm Live on Channel 7
Brisbane 1.30pm Live on Channel 7
Adelaide 1.00pm Live on 7mate
Perth 11.30am Live on 7mate

Wednesday September 30

WT20 International – Match 3
Australia v New Zealand
Allan Border Field
Sydney 1.30pm Live on 7mate
Melbourne 1.30pm Live on 7mate
Brisbane 1.30pm Live on 7mate
Adelaide 1.00pm Live on 7mate
Perth 11.30am Live on 7mate

Saturday October 3

WODI – Match 1
Australia v New Zealand
Allan Border Field
Sydney 10.00am Live on 7TWO
Melbourne 10.00am Live on 7mate
Brisbane 10.00am Live on 7TWO
Adelaide 9.30am Live on 7mate
Perth 8.00am Live on 7mate

Monday October 5

WODI – Match 2
Australia v New Zealand
Allan Border Field
Sydney 11.00am Live on 7TWO
Melbourne 11.00am Live on 7TWO
Brisbane 10.00am Live on 7TWO
Adelaide 10.30am Live on 7TWO
Perth 8.00am Live on 7TWO

Wednesday October 7

WODI – Match 3
Australia v New Zealand
Allan Border Field
Sydney 11.00am Live on 7mate
Melbourne 11.00am Live on 7mate
Brisbane 10.00am Live on 7mate
Adelaide 10.30am Live on 7mate
Perth 8.00am Live on 7mate

11 Comments:

  1. On twitter Mel Jones was promoting the match being on Fox cricket. On the 7cricket Twitter there is a picture with her holding a ch7 mic 🎤. Sooo confused right now

  2. It’s fortunate that these matches are going ahead given the virus circumstances. I don’t think Allan Border Field was the intended sports venue as other venues had been designated when the schedules were announced in May. The other sport venues are in Queensland with higher capacity seating and I’d guess that the smaller capacity Allan Border Field was the safer option. It’s better to have some international matches going ahead than no international matches at all.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.