Airdate: The Story of God with Morgan Freeman

There aren’t many actors you could rope in for a title like this but The Story of God with Morgan Freeman gets the casting right.

This 6 part religious special will screen in double episodes from this Sunday 21 May on SBS.

Academy Award-winning actor Morgan Freeman travels to some of the holiest sites in the world – from the Pyramids of Giza and Buddha’s Bodhi Tree, to Mayan ruins and Jerusalem’s Dome of the Rock. He meets people of all faiths and speaks to religious leaders, scientists, historians and archaeologists in an effort to understand how religion evolved and adapted as society changed, and how religion transformed the evolution of society.

Episode One: Beyond Death (8.40pm)
Morgan sets out to understand humanity’s obsession with the afterlife. David Bennett died and came back to talk about it. Physician Sam Parnia is convinced something survives physical bodies after death, and archaeologist Jodi Magness reveals how one man’s death granted humanity eternal life. Swami Varishthananda is a monk who guides Morgan through the Hindu belief in reincarnation; scholar Enrique Rodriguez-Alegria links ancient Aztec human sacrifices to the modern celebration of the Day of the Dead.

Episode Two: Apocalypse (9.35pm)
Violent cataclysms and fiery judgement fixate the popular imagination and fill numerous holy books. Morgan looks into this supposed future as well as past millennia of strife to determine how the world will end.

One Comment:

  1. Maev....Sydney

    Appeals to me….anything Morgan Freeman….but this, like the ‘train’ series on SBS….encompasses all aspects….all religions……..
    should be very interesting viewing.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.