SPAA Independent Producer Awards: winners

Aussie Producers pick Matchbox Pictures, Rake, Go Back to Where You Came From and Junior MasterChef amongst the best for 2011.

Matchbox Pictures has been named Independent Producer of the Year at the Screen Producer’s Conference in Sydney.

Helmed by Helen Bowden, Helen Panckhurst, Tony Ayres, Penny Chapman and Michael McMahon, Matchbox Pictures this year produced The Slap, My Place, Leaky Boat, Sex: An Unnatural History, and with upcoming projects including The Straits, Next Stop Hollywood and The Lost Boys.

Essential Media’s Rake won the Television Drama category while Cordell-Jigsaw’s Go Back to Where You Came From was named best Documentary and Shine Australia’s Junior MasterChef took out the Light Entertainment category.

The full list of winners (including film) at the 2011 SPAA Awards is:

SPAA Independent Producer of the Year
Matchbox Pictures

Maura Fay Award for Services to the Industry
Natalie Miller

Category: Feature Film See-Saw Films
Production: The King’s Speech

Category: Children’s Television Sticky Pictures
Production: The Dukes of Broxstonia

Category: Television Drama Essential Media & Entertainment
Production: Rake

Category: Television Light Entertainment Shine Australia
Production: Junior Masterchef

Category: Documentary Jigsaw Cordell
Production: Go Back To Where You Came From

Category: New Media Blue Rocket Productions
Production: My Place website

Category: Breakthrough Julian Harvey & Enzo Tedeschi
Production: The Tunnel

Category: Service and Facilities
Hopscotch Group

One Response

  1. Are non-Australian productions allowed in these awards?

    The King’s Speech had Geoffrey Rush and a few Australians in the crew – but it was not an Australia/UK co-production despite how much we wish it was.

    If it is a co-production, I apologise and will like to know why it was not entered in the 2011 AFI/AACTA awards.

Leave a Reply