Airdate: 2012 AACTA Awards

Next Tuesday night marks the inaugural AACTA Awards, formerly the AFI Awards, to be broadcast on Nine.

Next Tuesday night marks the inaugural AACTA Awards, formerly the AFI Awards.

Nine will be screening the big night in a delayed broadcast from the Sydney Opera House.

In an important milestone, this year the television section of the awards marks 25 years of celebrating Australian television excellence.

Olivia Newton-John will be a special guest, singing a medley from the soundtrack of her new film, A Few Best Men, including The Monkees’ hit Daydream Believer.

Richard Wilkins and Julia Morris will host the AACTA Red Carpet Arrivals, welcoming guests including Damien Walshe-Howling, Conrad Coleby, Danielle Cormack, Maeve Dermody, Rodger Corser, Sacha Horler, Susie Porter, Michael Caton, Julia Zemiro and Hugh Sheridan.

Oscar winners Geoffrey Rush and Cate Blanchett and Red Dog starlet Rachael Taylor head a who’s who of film and television who will present the inaugural Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts Awards on Tuesday, January 31, at 9.30pm on Channel Nine.

Anthony and Jonathan LaPaglia will also join local favourites including Lincoln Lewis, Shane Bourne, Gigi Edgley, Alex Dimitriades, Todd Lasance, Blake Davis, Callan McAuliffe, Judy Morris, Samara Weaving and Adam Elliot to present the honours to the best talent in Australian film and television.

The AACTA Awards were formerly known as the AFI Awards. To coincide with the inaugural AACTA Awards for the domestic industry, this year the AACTA International Awards are also being introduced to recognise film excellence around the world.

Together, the AACTA Awards and the AACTA International Awards will bring a new global flavour to Australia’s film and television industry, in line with the BAFTA Awards in the United Kingdom and the Academy Awards in the USA.

The AACTA Awards announced on January 31 will cover the Feature Film and Television categories for achievements in acting, producing, screenwriting and directing for 2011.

The AACTA International Awards will also be hosted by Geoffrey Rush with several A-list Australian expatriates presenting, including Guy Pearce at a special event in Hollywood on January 27. The awards will include Best Actor and Actress, Best Direction, Best Screenplay and Best Film, and will be broadcast during the AACTA Awards ceremony on January 31 at the Sydney Opera House.

There are six nominations for the coveted Samsung AACTA Award for Best Film: The Eye Of The Storm, The Hunter, Mad Bastards, Oranges And Sunshine, Red Dog and Snowtown.

Tuesday, January 31, at 9.30pm on Nine.

2 Responses

Leave a Reply