Screen Producers Awards 2015: winners

Winners included The Secret River, The Code, Nowhere Boys, X Factor & Go Back to Where You Came From.


ABC titles including The Secret River and The Code dominated the Screen Producer Awards held in Melbourne last night.

Matchbox Pictures, which won the Children’s category for Nowhere Boys, scored the top award as Production Business of the Year.

Screen Producers Australia’s CEO Matthew Deaner said: “The Screen Producers Australia Awards were born from a desire to recognise and honour Australian screen businesses who create and support high quality and outstanding screen content. Matchbox Pictures have established themselves as one of Australia’s most successful production companies, consistently producing original and entertaining stories for television audiences both locally and internationally.”

Richard Finlayson, Director of Television said: “The SPA Awards celebrate great Australian screen productions, and recognize outstanding skill and creativity within the industry. ABC TV is thrilled to be working with so many incredibly talented producers to tell compelling Australian stories on screen.”

TV and related categories:

Production Business of the Year
Matchbox Pictures

Lifetime Achievement Award
Natalie Miller AO

Drama Television Production of the Year
The Code
Playmaker Media

Comedy Television Production of the Year
Please Like Me S2
Guesswork Television

Documentary Television Production of the Year
Go Back To Where You Came From
Cordell Jigsaw Productions

Children’s Television Production of the Year
Nowhere Boys S2
Matchbox Pictures

Light Entertainment Television Production of the Year
High Wire Films

Reality Television Production of the Year
The X Factor S5
Fremantle Media Australia

Telemovie or Mini Series Production of the Year
The Secret River
Ruby Entertainment

Breakthrough Business of the Year
Brindle Films

Services and Facilities Business of the Year
Fox Studios Australia

Leave a Reply