Australian Director’s Guild elects new President

Rowan Woods succeeds outgoing president Samantha Lang at ADG.

Respected director Rowan Woods (The Boys, Little Fish, The Kettering Incident) has been elected as President of the Australian Director’s Guild, replacing Samantha Lang.

Woods’ credits also include The Broken Shore, Farscape, Spartacus, Hunters, Nowhere Boys and The Commons.

Rowan Woods said: “The screen director’s job is to enthral audiences: to make them think, emotionally, intellectually, politically. The ADG is our director’s union and our cultural hub. Through 2020 and 2021 we grew like never before with membership increases and a structural make-over under Sam Lang’s formidable Presidency and Executive Alaric McAusland arrival. We are now more resilient, inclusive and more formidable than ever. As a TV and feature director and Head of Directing at AFTRS, I am excited to continue on the ADG board as President. Our work continues.”

Samantha Lang steps down today after serving twelve years on the ADG board and six years in the role of president where she oversaw growth in the number and diversity of ADG members, championed the Gender Matters program, expanded the range of professional development opportunities for members and raised the Guild’s industrial influence and standing.

“It’s been a great honour to advocate for Australian screen directors across all platforms during my tenure. I’m leaving at a moment where the composition and structure of the Australian Directors Guild is incredibly robust, and I am so excited that Rowan Woods has agreed to take on the mantle of ADG President,” she said.

Nadia Tass has been re-elected as Vice President – Feature Films and Jonathan Brough has been re-elected for a further term as Vice President – Television.

New to the ADG Board is Partho Sen Gupta.

Leave a Reply