Returning: The Recruit

AFL Reality show The Recruit is returning to FOX8 after a two year break.

15 players will again compete for an AFL contract in the 10 part series produced by McGuire Media (also producing The Rookie for Nine).

The 15 contenders are: Darren Allen (21, VIC); Fabian Brancatisano (22, VIC); Rhett Coots (21, VIC); Daniel Cox (21, WA); Jack Dimery (23, NSW); Matt Eagles (26, SA); Brady Egan (21, VIC); Dillan Jones (23, QLD); Jayden Kelly (27, NSW); Jeconiah “Jay Jay” Peni (20, PNG); Jackson Sketcher (24, VIC); Shylo Smith (25, VIC); Jordan Treloar (23, VIC); Jason Williams (22, VIC) and Justin Van Unen (25, VIC).

A host has not yet been confirmed for the show.

Leading the Recruits as Head Coach on this incredible journey is former AFL player and record-breaking coach Mick Malthouse. He is joined by former Hawthorn champion and FOX Footy commentator Ben Dixon as Assistant Coach, Port Adelaide’s world class fitness guru Darren Burgess as High Performance Coach; and accomplished sports administrator Leigh Russell as Mind Coach.

In each episode, the Recruits will be judged by their performance in individual and team challenges held both on and off the footy field. The player deemed the weakest every week by head coach Mick Malthouse will be delisted.

While Melbourne’s Etihad Stadium is the formal home of The Recruit, the various challenges and football games are filmed on location around the country, from Tasmania’s Gordon Dam to the Tiwi Islands, Sydney and Marysville.

The series will culminate in a live finale in which an AFL Draft will be held, with the winner signing a contract with one AFL Club.

Wednesday July 20 at 8.30pm on FOX8 and is repeated on FOX Footy.


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.