Airdate: Australian of the Year Awards 2017

ABC broadcasts the Australian of the Year Awards from Parliament House Canberra on Wednesday night, hosted by Jeremy Fernandez and Myf Warhurst.

ABC Managing Director Michelle Guthrie said, “The ABC is the source for national stories and conversations, including the Australian of the Year Awards, one of the nation’s highest honours. Australians turn to the ABC for such events and I invite them to do so again this year.”

The Australian of the Year Awards celebrate the many ways ordinary people can create extraordinary change, by featuring leading citizens who are role models for us, and through their own contribution are endeavouring to create a better Australia.

Highlights of the ABC broadcast will include red carpet arrivals, inspiring stories about the exceptional group of highly-respected Australians in the running for Awards as well as exciting performances by The Choir of Hard Knocks with Urthboy, Chris Tamwoy, Dewayne Everettsmith and Kira Puru. Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull will officially announce our 2017 Australians of the Year.

The 32 national finalists for Young Australian of the Year, Senior Australian of the Year, Australia’s Local Hero and Australian of the Year were drawn from more than 3,000 individuals nominated by the public and have been recognised as State and Territory Award recipients.

Chairman of the National Australia Day Council, Ben Roberts-Smith VC MG, said the Australian of the Year Awards are an opportunity for us all to celebrate and recognise the achievements and contributions of outstanding Australians.

“The Awards allow us to reflect on what it means to be Australian and the many ways in which ordinary people inspire and unite us,” Mr Roberts-Smith said. “This year’s finalists are a wonderfully diverse and hardworking group of leaders, who represent Australians from all walks of life.”

19:30: Red Carpet and welcome from hosts Jeremy Fernandez and Myf Warhurst
19:37: Prime Minister’s Address
19:41: Prime Minister announces 2017 Young Australian of the Year
20:00: Prime Minister announces 2017 Senior Australian of the Year
20:27: Prime Minister announces 2017 Australia’s Local Hero
20:48: Prime Minister announces 2017 Australian of the Year

Wednesday January 25 at 7.30pm AEDT on ABC.
Simulcast Live on ABC iview, ABC News 24, ABC TV Facebook and ABC TV YouTube.

One Comment:

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.