Kennedy Awards 2017: winners

Seven News, Nine News, ABC News, Prime 7 News and NITV were amongst winners at the sixth annual Kennedy Awards in Sydney on Friday night.

Michael Usher hosted the event, himself a recipient for for Outstanding Television Current Affairs Reporting for Murder Uncovered.

Nine News’ Chris O’Keefe was awarded Journalist of the Year, as well as Scoop of the Year and Outstanding Political Journalist. Studio 10‘s Ita Buttrose receive a Lifetime Achievement award.

The Kennedy Awards are named after veteran police reporter Les Kennedy, who died in 2011 at the age of 53.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Ita Buttrose

Journalist of the Year: Chris O’Keefe (Nine News)

Les Kennedy Award for Outstanding Crime Reporting: Allan Clarke (NITV and BuzzFeed News)

Paul Lockyer Award for Outstanding Regional Broadcast Reporting: Lucy Langtry, Rod Smith (Prime 7 North Coast)

Cliff Neville Award – Team Player: Shaun Besgrove (7 News Sydney)

John Newfong Award – Outstanding Indigenous Affairs Reporting: Caro Meldrum-Hanna, Mary Fallon, Elise Worthington (Four Corners)

Gary Ticehurst Award – Outstanding Television News Camera Coverage: Adam Bovino (Nine News)

Harry Potter Award – Outstanding Television News Reporting: Chris O’Keefe (Nine News)

Outstanding TV Current Affairs: Michael Usher (7 News)

Outstanding Nightly TV Current Affairs: James Thomas, Lesley Robinson (ABC 7.30)

Outstanding Consumer Affairs Reporting: Sophie Scott, Meredith Griffiths (ABC 7.30)

Outstanding Online News Breaking: Emily McPherson (

Outstanding Reporting on the Environment: Caro Meldrum-Hanna, Jaya Balendra, Alex McDonald (Four Corners)

The Rebecca Wilson Award – Scoop of the Year: Chris O’Keefe (Nine News)

Outstanding Investigative Reporting: Caro Meldrum-Hanna, Mary Fallon, Elise Worthington (Four Corners)

Outstanding Political Journalist: Chris O’Keefe (Nine News)


  1. Kennedy Awards

    Two winners from Melbourne – Emily McPherson of and the team from The Age with Outstanding Radio Current Affairs and Audio Blog. Journalist of the Year finalist and two time Golden Spirax winner Adele Ferguson from Melbourne. There you go Sully. The record has been set straight. Oh – and btw – The Australian – a national newspaper last time we checked – won three awards at the Kennedys. And many thanks to national television outfits NITV, 60 Minutes, Four Corners, A Current Affair and 730 for competing in the Kennedys – and we can’t forget the New York Times for their entry in Outstanding Indigenous Affairs.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.