S.A. Press Club Awards 2017: winners

Seven’s legendary sports broadcaster Bruce McAvaney was awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award at the South Australian Press Club Awards on Friday.

“That’s what we’re all about, fulfilling our potential,” he said at the event held at the Hotel Grand Chancellor.

ABC journos Nicola Gage and Angelique Donnellan dominate with the Gold Award plus several other wins including the Scoop of the Year for a report into abuse at an Adelaide nursing home run by the SA government.

TV & related winners:

Lifetime Achievement Award
Bruce McAvaney

Gold Award
Nicola Gage and Angelique Donnellan, ABC

Best Television News Report
Edward Godfrey, Nine Network “Dangerous delays”

Best Long Form Television Report
Hendrik Gout, Seven Network “Grant controversy”

Best Broadcaster, Television, Radio or Online
Angelique Donnellan, ABC “Oakden, Lucy Paveley Hit-run tragedy, Angel flight

Best Special or Extended Coverage of a News Event, Television, Radio or Online
Nine News “Grand Final Eve”

Best Camera News Footage
Nick Frazer, Adelaide Overnight News “Chase arrests”

Best Investigative Coverage of An Issue or Event Any Medium
Angelique Donnellan and Nicola Gage, ABC “Abuse in state care“

Scoop of the Year in Any Medium
Joint Winner:
Nicola Gage and Angelique Donnellan, ABC
“Abuse in state care – Investigation launched after father overmedicated”

Young Journalist of the Year
Isabel Dayman, ABC

One Comment:

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.