Walkley Awards 2018: winners

Four Corners has dominated Television categories at the Walkley Awards last night.

It won Camerawork, Current Affairs (Long), Production and Public Service Journalism categories.

ABC also won several other categories while SBS picked up a single award for Dateline.

There were also awards for the Don Burke investigation for both ABC and Fairfax.

The Australian’s Hedley Thomas and Slade Gibson won the Gold Walkley for “The Teacher’s Pet.” Scoop of the Year went to Sharri Markson, Christopher Dore and Kylar Loussikian from The Daily Telegraph.

Sean Dorney was recognised for his Outstanding Contribution to Journalism over forty years of tireless reporting on the Asia Pacific and especially Papua New Guinea.

TV and related categories (winners in bold):

Television / Video: Camerawork
Matthew Davis, Foreign Correspondent, ABC, “On Top Of The World”
Aaron Hollett, Four Corners, ABC, “City of Ghosts”
Ginny Stein, Lateline, ABC “The Duterte Solution”

Television / Video: News Reporting
Alexandra Blucher and Mark Willacy, ABC 7pm News, ABC TV, “Corruption concerns at one of Australia’s biggest councils”
Chris O’Keefe, Nine News, Nine Network, “Emma Husar Quits”
Chris Reason, Seven 6pm News, Seven Network & Social Media & News Specials, “Thai Caves Rescue”

Television / Video Current Affairs Short (less than 20 minutes)
Dimity Clancey and Natalie Clancy, A Current Affair, Nine Network, “Disgraced Doctor”
Hagar Cohen and Nikki Tugwell, 7.30, ABC TV, “Fentanyl abuse series”
Lorna Knowles, Kate McClymont, Jo Puccini, Alison Branley and ABC and Fairfax Team, 7.30, ABC TV, “Women claim Don Burke sexually harassed them” and “More people come forward with accounts of dealing with Don Burke”

Television / Video Current Affairs Long (more than 20 minutes)
Stephen Long and Wayne Harley, Four Corners, ABC TV, “Digging into Adani”
Louise Milligan, Sashka Koloff, Mary Fallon and Lucy Carter, Four Corners, ABC TV, “I Am That Girl”
Mark Willacy and Four Corners Team, Four Corners, ABC TV, “Out of the Dark”

Walkley Documentary Award Shortlist
Myanmar’s Killing Fields, Evan Williams, Patrick Wells, Eve Lucas and Georgina Davies, Dateline, SBS
The Song Keepers, Rachel Clements, Naina Sen and Trisha Morton-Thomas, Brindle Films, Indigo Productions and NITV
Trump/Russia, Four Corners Trump/Russia team, Four Corners, ABC TV

ABC News Interactive Digital Storytelling, ABC News Online, “Into The Cave”
Four Corners Production Team, Four Corners, ABC TV, “I Am That Girl”
Peak Hour Project Team, The Age, “How to beat Melbourne’s worsening peak-hour traffic”

Coverage of Indigenous Affairs
Allan Clarke and Yale Macgillivray, ABC, “Unravel: Blood on the Tracks”
Laura Murphy-Oates, The Feed, SBS Viceland, “Kids of Kalgoorlie” “Reconciling Murder: The Myall Creek massacre” and “The Frontier wars: Australia’s Forgotten Conflicts”
Guardian Team, Guardian Australia, “Deaths Inside: Indigenous deaths in custody”

Public Service Journalism
Laura Banks, The Daily Telegraph and Seven News Sydney, “Little Boy Dead”
Belinda Hawkins and Sarah Farnsworth, Australian Story, ABC TV, “The Justice Principle”
Louise Milligan, Sashka Koloff, Mary Fallon and Lucy Carter, Four Corners, ABC TV, “I Am That Girl”

One Comment:

  1. carolemorrissey

    Scoop of the year to Sharri Markson? If that’s for the Barnaby Joyce story that’s the second Award she’s won for it. But she did not break that story. Independent Australia reported on it months earlier. Come on Walkley’s I expect better from you.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.