Walkley Awards 2023: winners

Wins by Nine, ABC, SBS at journalism's annual awards held in Sydney.

Winners at the 2023 Walkley Awards held last night in Sydney included TV wins for Foreign Correspondent, The Feed, SBS World News, ABC News and Dark Emu.

The Financial Review’s Neil Chenoweth and Edmund Tadros were awarded the prestigious Gold Walkley. Living Black‘s Karla Grant, Kate McClymont from The Sydney Morning Herald and Caroline Wilson from The Age / Footy Classified and veteran journalist Geraldine Doogue were honoured for their Outstanding Contribution to Journalism.

Nick McKenzie and Chris Masters wre honoured with the Media Freedom Award for their Ben Roberts-Smith investigation -McKenzie was also recognised in the Television / Video: Current Affairs Long category for 60 Minutes.

ABC’s John Lyons was recognised for his Body of Work in a Commentary, Analysis, Opinion And Critique category.

The Walkley Foundation’s chief executive, Shona Martyn said: “The awards and honours presented tonight shine a spotlight on the strength of Australian journalism, from journalists working on the frontline today and from those who started their careers 40 years ago. The work that is honoured tonight is world class. Australian news consumers are well served by journalists of this calibre. Our news organisations should be rightly proud.

“Once again the quality of work submitted was of an extraordinarily high standard and all winners and finalists in the 68th Walkley Awards are to be heartily congratulated for their stories, cartoons, photographs, books and documentaries. Our partners and judges are also to be thanked for their support.”

TV and related categories:

All Media: Commentary, Analysis, Opinion And Critique
Lorena Allam, Guardian Australia, ‘An Indigenous Perspective on the Voice’
John Lyons, ABC, ‘John Lyons Body of Work’
Katharine Murphy, Guardian Australia, ‘Saturday Political Commentary’

All Media: Explanatory Journalism
Matt Bevan, Yasmin Parry, Andrew George and Andrew Harrison, ABC, ‘If You’re Listening’
Karla Grant and the Living Black Team, NITV, ‘Referendum for an Indigenous Voice: The Campaigners’
Rick Morton, The Saturday Paper, ‘The Robodebt Royal Commission’

All Media: Coverage Of Indigenous Affairs
Ben Abbatangelo, Anthony Hawwa, Andy Marriott and Casey Vigushin, Network 10, The Project, ‘Young Voices Lost’
Bridget Brennan, Suzanne Dredge, Brooke Fryer and Stephanie Zillman, ABC, Four Corners, ‘How Many More?’
Mathew Cornwell, Carrie Fellner, Katrina McGowan and Rhett Wyman, The Sydney Morning Herald, ‘Paradise Poisoned’

All Media: Coverage Of Community & Regional Affairs
Tallulah Bieundurry, Hannah Murphy, Erin Parke and Andrew Seabourne, ABC, 7.30 and ABC News, ‘Kimberley Floods’
Daniel Clarke, Fox Docos, Binge, The Advertiser, ‘Body of Work’
Christopher Walsh and David Wood, NT Independent, ‘Fatal Failures: Behind the Scenes of the Zach Rolfe Affair’

All Media: Sports Journalism
David Mark, ABC 7.30 and ABC News, ‘“After Almost 30 Years, These Women are Finally Seeing Justice”: The Investigation into Paedophile Rock Climbing Coach, Stephen Mitchell’
Pat McGrath, Alex McDonald, Carla Hildebrandt and Sarah Curnow, ABC, Four Corners and ABC News, ‘Game, Bet, Match’
Team Fenech, Spotlight and Channel 7 News, ‘Thanks for the Memories – Mario Fenech’

Digital Media: Innovation Journalism
ABC News Video Lab and the Indigenous Affairs Team, ABC, ‘Locked Up and Locked Down’
ABCQueer, ABC Innovation Lab and ABC Digital Story Innovations Team, ABC News, ‘Retracing the Steps of the First Mardi Gras’
The Offside Project Team, The Age and The Sydney Morning Herald, ‘How to Lay a Perfect Offside Trap – and How to Break It’

All Media: Scoop Of The Year
Liam Bartlett, Steve Jackson and Mark Llewellyn, Channel 7, Spotlight, ‘Trial and Error’
Josh Hanrahan and Mark Morri, The Daily Telegraph, ‘Cooma Taser Scandal’ ($)
Andrew Probyn and Jake Evans, ABC News, ‘Lidia Thorpe and the Bikie Boss’

All Media: Coverage Of A Major News Event Or Issue
The Australian Financial Review Team, The Australian Financial Review, ‘PwC Tax Leaks Scandal – AFR Coverage’
Michael Bachelard, Nick McKenzie, Amelia Ballinger and Joel Tozer, The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and 60 Minutes, ‘Home Affairs Failings’
The State of Addiction Team, The Sydney Morning Herald, ‘State of Addiction’

Television/Video: Camerawork
Matt Davis, ABC, Foreign Correspondent and ABC News, ‘Surviving in Somalia’ and ‘Canada on Fire’
Tom Joyner, ABC News, ‘International Humanitarian Coverage’
Andy Taylor and Roger Price, SBS, Dateline, ‘Ray Martin: Mysteries of the Outback’

Television/Video: News Reporting
Colin Cosier and Ben Lewis, SBS World News, ‘Ukraine: One Year On’
Paula Doneman, Robert Ovadia and Kathryn Sutton, 7NEWS Australia, ‘Hearts Bleed Blue’
Prue Lewarne, SBS World News, ‘Haiti’s Turmoil’

Television/Video: Current Affairs Short (Under 20 Minutes)
Amelia Ballinger and Nick McKenzie, Nine, 60 Minutes, ‘Home Truths’
Gavin Blyth, Michelle Elias, Jennifer Luu and Jodie Noyce, SBS, The Feed, ‘Uncovering Incels’
Dan Nolan, Nine, A Current Affair, ‘Childcare Whistleblower’

Television/Video: Current Affairs Long (Over 20 Minutes)
Mahmood Fazal, Amos Roberts and Dylan Welch, ABC, Four Corners, ‘Cocaine Nation: Australia’s Booming Drug Trade Revealed’
Angus Grigg, Jessica Longbottom, Jonathan Miller and Maddison Connaughton, ABC, Four Corners, ‘Shadow State’
Nick McKenzie, Amelia Ballinger and Joel Tozer, Nine, 60 Minutes, ‘Trafficked’

All Media: International
Anthony Galloway and Kate Geraghty, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Age, ‘Winter in Ukraine’
Stephanie March, Naomi Selvaratnam, Shaun Kingma and Matt Henry, ABC, Foreign Correspondent, ‘Philippines: Saving the Children’
Marty Smiley and Leah Donovan, ABC, Foreign Correspondent, ‘Inside Iran: The Fight Continues’

All Media: Investigative Journalism
Alexandra Blucher and the Background Briefing and ABC Investigations Teams, ABC, Background Briefing and ABC News, ‘How the System Failed to Save Darcey and Chloe’
Neil Chenoweth and Edmund Tadros, The Australian Financial Review, ‘PwC Tax Leaks Scandal
Kate McClymont and Thea Dikeos, The Sydney Morning Herald, ‘Charlie Teo: The Profit of Hope’

Walkley Documentary Award Finalists
Darren Dale, Belinda Mravicic, Jacob Hickey and Allan Clarke, The Dark Emu Story, Blackfella Films / ABC
Isabel Darling and Tom Zubrycki, The Carnival, Torchlight Media
Rachel Perkins, Darren Dale and Jacob Hickey, The Australian Wars, Blackfella Films / SBS Australia

The Walkley Judging Board:
● Chair: Michael Brissenden, senior independent journalist
● Deputy chair: Cameron Stewart, The Australian
● Sarah Abo, 60 Minutes, Nine
● Neil Breen, 4BC Breakfast
● Suzanne Dredge, ABC
● Anton Enus, SBS World News
● Rashell Habib, Paramount
● Gabrielle Jackson, Guardian Australia
● Kate Kyriacou, The Courier-Mail
● Dean Lewins, AAP
● Hamish Macdonald, The Project, Network Ten
● Karen Middleton, The Saturday Paper
● Mark Riley, Seven News
● Donna Page, The Newcastle Herald
● Sarah-Jane Tasker, The West Australian
● Kathryn Wicks, The Sydney Morning Herald


5 Responses

  1. And only two awards to US owned fake news and scandal rags. That has to be the best result in years.

    Congrats to the ABC for their swag of awards. They may not always be consistent with their journalism, and can get it wrong sometimes, but news is still their forte.

  2. Poor showing from Channel 7 this year. Australia’s supposed #1 news with all those resources funnelled into Spotlight and their digital news offering – barely a nomination and no wins. Hope that’s something that gives them pause to think.

Leave a Reply