Kids’ Choice Awards announce virtual awards for 2020

Slime-tastic Kids' TV awards will present a lockdown event in 2020.

Nickelodeon will screen its annual Kids’ Choice Awards in a ‘virtual’ presentation in 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Nickelodeon’s Kids’ Choice Awards 2020: Celebrate Together, will be hosted by Victoria Justice and reveal winners through creative orange-blimp acceptance speeches.

Celebrities scheduled to appear include Dwayne Johnson, Ariana Grande, Kristen Bell, Josh Gad, Camila Cabello, Millie Bobby Brown, Ellen DeGeneres, BTS, Shawn Mendes, Lil Nas X, Dove Cameron, Tom Holland, David Dobrik, Tom Kenny, Bill Fagerbakke, SSSniperWolf, and more.

During the broadcast the inaugural Honorary Local Legend Award will be awarded to young Aussies. 12-year-old Molly Steer from Cairns is being recognised for her conservation campaign, Straw No More which resulted in over 17,000 schools getting rid of single-use plastic straws. 11-year-old Jack Berne from Sydney.is being recognised for launching a fundraising initiative $5 Jacks’ Fiver for a Farmer which has raised $1.6 million since 2018.

The show will also reveal who kids across Australia and New Zealand have chosen as their favourite local celebrities in categories such as; Favourite Sports Star, which sees Australian born NBA player Ben Simmons up against world No.1 tennis champion Ash Barty, Olympic swimmer Mack Horton, Australian cricketer Ellyse Perry and New Zealand rugby player TJ Perenara, Favourite Music Maker, with Tones and I, Benee, Dean Lewis, Six60 and 5 Seconds of Summer all hoping to claim the coveted orange blimp, and finally, in the world of all things social media, online gamer EyStreem will face off against YouTube personality Georgia Productions and Johnny Tuivasa-Sheck, Tik Tok star Mariam Star and Instagrammer Harvey Petito, for the title of Favourite Content Creator.

With appearances from cast members of The Avengers: Endgame (Robert Downey Jr., Chris Evans, Chris Hemsworth, Scarlett Johansson, Mark Ruffalo and Jeremy Renner), and a sneak peek of Nickelodeon’s new live-action series The Astronauts, from Imagine Entertainment. Kids’ Choice Awards 2020: Celebrate Together will also feature segments unlike any other awards show including JoJo Siwa discovering slime secretly placed in every area of her home; a performance by recording artist and actor Asher Angel of his chart-topping single “All Day”; and an exclusive look at Nick’s Slime in Space voyage.

Monday, May 11 at 6pm on Nickelodeon.

AU / NZ categories:

Favourite Sports Star
Ash Barty
Mack Horton
Ellyse Perry
TJ Perenara (NZ)
Ben Simmons

Favourite Music Maker
Tones And I
5 Seconds of Summer
Benee (NZ)
Six60 (NZ)
Dean Lewis

Favourite Content Creator
Georgia Productions
Johnny Tuivasa-Sheck (NZ)
Mariam Star
Harvey Petito

International Categories:


Favourite Kids TV Show:
A Series of Unfortunate Events
All That
Henry Danger
Power Rangers Beast Morphers
Raven’s Home

Favourite Family TV Show:
Fuller House
Modern Family
Stranger Things
The Big Bang Theory
The Flash
Young Sheldon

Favourite Reality Show:
America’s Got Talent
American Ninja Warrior
America’s Funniest Home Videos
MasterChef Junior
The Masked Singer
The Voice

Favourite TV Host:
Ellen DeGeneres (Ellen’s Game of Games)
John Cena (Are You Smarter Than A 5th Grader)
Nick Cannon (The Masked Singer)
Ryan Seacrest (American Idol)
Terry Crews (America’s Got Talent)
Tiffany Haddish (Kids Say the Darndest Things)

Favourite Animated Series:
ALVINNN!!! and The Chipmunks
SpongeBob SquarePants
Teen Titans Go!
The Amazing World of Gumball
The Loud House
The Simpsons

Favourite Female TV Star:
Candace Cameron Bure (D.J. Tanner-Fuller, Fuller House)
Ella Anderson (Piper Hart, Henry Danger)
Millie Bobby Brown (Eleven, Stranger Things)
Peyton List (Emma Ross, BUNK’D)
Raven-Symoné (Raven Baxter, Raven’s Home)
Riele Downs (Charlotte Page, Henry Danger)

Favourite Male TV Star:
Abraham Rodriguez (Nate Silva / Gold Ranger, Power Rangers Beast Morphers)
Caleb McLaughlin (Lucas Sinclair, Stranger Things)
Jace Norman (Henry Hart / Kid Danger, Henry Danger)
Jim Parsons (Sheldon Cooper, The Big Bang Theory)
Joshua Bassett (Ricky, High School Musical: The Musical: The Series)
Karan Brar (Ravi Ross, BUNK’D)

Leave a Reply