Cameras roll on Stan drama Thou Shalt Not Steal

80s themed series set in Central and South Australia is now filming in Alice Springs, directed by Dylan River.

Filming is underway in Alice Springs on a new 8 part local drama, Thou Shalt Not Steal, for Stan.

The 80s themed series set in Central and South Australia stars Sherry-Lee Watson (Heartbreak High), Will McDonald (Heartbreak High, Young Rock), Miranda Otto (The Clearing, The Portable Door, Talk To Me) and Noah Taylor (Peaky Blinders, Game of Thrones).

Dylan River (Mystery Road: Origin, Robbie Hood) directs, having co-created alongside executive producer Tanith Glynn-Maloney (Finding Jedda, She Who Must Be Loved, Robbie Hood).

The series follows Robyn (Watson), a young Aboriginal delinquent searching for the truth behind a mysterious family secret, who escapes from detention and reluctantly teams up with awkward teenager Gidge (McDonald). Together they flee her small central desert community on a perilous journey across the outback, finding answers and learning some hard life lessons along the way. Hot on their heels are Maxine (Otto), a sex trafficker whose taxi Robyn stole, and Gidge’s domineering father Robert (Taylor), a fraudulent preacher.

Dylan River said: “My family always said, be careful what you write, you might have to make it one day! I’m so thrilled with the team we have assembled for Thou Shall Not Steal and can’t wait for audiences to join our cast of characters for a good old fashioned road trip from the NT to SA.”

The cast also includes Natasha Wanganeen (The Tourist, The New Boy), Warren H Williams (True Colours, The Secret Daughter), William McKenna (The Messenger, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child), Darren Gilshenan (No Activity, Stateless, Harrow), Shari Sebbens (The Sapphires, The Office Australia), Fiona O’Loughlin (Get Krack!n, That’s Not My Dog!), Damian Walshe-Howling (Last King of the Cross, Janet King), Geoff Morrell (The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power, Top of the Lake: China Girl), Justin Rosniak (Mr Inbetween, Last King of the Cross), Andy Golledge (Robbie Hood), Eddie Baroo (Irreverent, Blueback), Fletcher Humphreys (Scrublands, Last King of the Cross), and more.

The series is produced by multi-Emmy and BAFTA Award-winning Ludo Studio by Charlie Aspinwall and Daley Pearson (Bluey, Robbie Hood), and Sophie Miller (The Family Law), alongside producer Sam Moor (Bluey) with Since1788 Productions. Cailah Scobie and Donna Chang Executive Produce for Stan. Thou Shalt Not Steal has received major production investment from Screen Australia with support from the South Australian Film Corporation, Screen Territory and by Screen Queensland’s Post, Digital and Visual Effects (PDV) Incentive. DCD Rights will manage international distribution.

Leave a Reply