Screen Producers Awards 2023: finalists

Finalists include Bay of Fires, Love Me, The Newsreader, The Summit, The Clearing, Crazy Fun Park and more.

Nominees have been announced for the Screen Producers Awards to be presented next March.

To be eligible, titles had to have been first released to audiences between 1 January and 31 December 2023.

“2023 was a year filled with a number of challenges for our industry, but the Australian screen sector continued to delight audiences globally with stories that share our unique culture and creativity. The productions announced today as finalists are a testament to the determination and originality of screen practitioners here in Australia, and we thank all our member businesses for their tireless work,” said SPA CEO Matthew Deaner.

“I have huge admiration for, and applaud, all those affiliated with each of the productions and look forward to celebrating the achievements of our members successes at the Awards ceremony in March 2024 as part of Screen Forever 38.”

TV and related categories:

Drama Series Production of the Year
Bay of Fires (ABC) – Archipelago Productions
Black Snow (Stan) – Goalpost Pictures
Erotic Stories (SBS) – Lingo Pictures
Love Me (BINGE) – Warner Bros. International Television Production Australia
NCIS: Sydney (Paramount+) – Endemol Shine Australia
Scrublands (Stan) – Easy Tiger Productions
The Newsreader S2 (ABC) – Werner Film Productions
Totally Completely Fine (Stan) – Fremantle Australia

Telemovie or Miniseries Production of the Year
While The Men Are Away (SBS) – Arcadia
The Claremont Murders (7 Network) – Endemol Shine Australia
Wellmania (Netflix) – Fremantle Australia
The Messenger (ABC) – Lingo Pictures
Bad Behaviour (Stan) – Matchbox Pictures
The Clearing (Disney+) – Wooden Horse

Comedy Program or Series Production of the Year
Class of 07 (Prime Video) – Matchbox Pictures
Deadloch (Prime Video) – Guesswork Television and OK Great Productions
Gold Diggers (ABC) – KOJO Studios
Hannah Gadsby: Something Special (Netflix) – Guesswork Television
In Limbo (ABC) – Bunya Productions and Heiress Films
Mother and Son (ABC) – Wooden Horse

Documentary Series Production of the Year
Folau (ABC) – In Films
Matildas: The World At Our Feet (Disney+) – Barking Mad Productions
Ningaloo Nyinggulu (ABC) – Artemis Media
Old People’s Home for Teenagers (ABC) – Endemol Shine Australia
Queerstralia (ABC) – Guesswork Television
The First Inventors (NITV & Network 10) – Ronde Media
The Swap (SBS) – Southern Pictures
The Way We Wore (ABC) – Stranger Than Fiction

Entertainment Production of the Year
Adam and Poh’s Great Australian Bites (SBS) – i8 Studio
Dancing With the Stars S32 (7 Network) – BBC Studios Australia
Gogglebox Australia S17 (Network 10 & Foxtel Group) – Endemol Shine Australia
Grand Designs Australia S10 (ABC) – Fremantle Australia
Hard Quiz S8 (ABC) – Thinkative Television
The ABC Of… S2 (ABC) – Guesswork Television

Reality Series Production of the Year
FBOY Island Australia (Foxtel Group) – Warner Bros. International Television Production Australia
Love Triangle S2 (9 Network) – Endemol Shine Australia
Real Housewives of Sydney S2 (Foxtel Group) – Matchbox Pictures
The Bachelors Australia (Network 10) – Warner Bros. International Television Production Australia
The Great Australian Bake Off S7 (Lifestyle) – BBC Studios Australia
The Summit (9 Network) – Endemol Shine Australia

Animated Production of the Year
100% Wolf: Book of Hath (ABC) – Flying Bark Productions
Beep and Mort (ABC) – Windmill Pictures
Ginger and the Vegesaurs S2 (ABC) – Cheeky Little Media
Kangaroo Beach Season S2 (ABC) – Cheeky Little Media
Koala Man (Disney+) – Princess Pictures
YOLO: Silver Destiny S2 (Stan) – Princess Pictures

Children’s Production of the Year (excluding Animation)
Crazy Fun Park (ABC) – Werner Film Productions
Rock Island Mysteries S2 (Network 10) – Fremantle Australia
Spooky Files (ABC) – Tony Ayres Productions and Megaboom Pictures
Surviving Summer S2 (Netflix) – Werner Film Productions
The PM’s Daughter S2 (ABC) – Fremantle Australia
Turn Up The Volume (ABC) – Matchbox Pictures and Film Camp

Feature Documentary Production of the Year
Flyways – Flyways
Harley & Katya – Stranger Than Fiction Films
Living With Devils – Smith & Nasht
ONEFOUR: Against All Odds – Stranger Than Fiction Films
The Cape – Wooden Horse
The Giants – WildBear Entertainment
The Jewish Nazi? – Mint Pictures
The Platypus Guardian – WildBear Entertainment

Feature Film Production of the Year
Carmen – Goalpost Pictures
Foe – See-Saw Films
Limbo – Bunya Productions
Shayda – Origma 45
Streets of Colour – Frankendipity
The Royal Hotel – See-Saw Films

Finalists and recipients of Individual and Business Awards categories will be announced in 2024.

SPA members will peer voted on the finalists until 10 January 2024.

Winners will be announced at Screen Forever on the Gold Coast on Thursday, 21 March 2024.

Leave a Reply