Creative Emmys: 2010 winners

The Creative Arts Emmys ceremony was held in Los Angeles on Saturday ahead of the main event next weekend.

The Pacific took home six awards for HBO. Updated: this included Aussie members of the art direction team.

Modern Family and Mad Men won both won casting awards.

Jeff Probst won his third of the Emmys as the best reality show host for Survivor.

John Lithgow won for his role as the Trinity Killer in Dexter. Ann-Margret also bagged one Emmy for her guest appearance in Law & Order: SVU.

Neil Patrick Harris won for his guest appearance in Glee and another as Tonys host.

Betty White won Best Guest Actress in a Comedy Series for her Saturday Night Live gig.

Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution won for best reality program.

Full winners:
Best Casting of a Drama Series: “Mad Men”

Best Casting of a Movie/Mini: “The Pacific”

Best Casting of a Comedy Series: “Modern Family” (announced by Jane Lynch of “Glee,” a losing nominee)

Best Prosthetic Makeup for Series, Movie or Mini: “The Pacific”

Best Makeup for Movie or Mini (Non-Prosthetic): “The Pacific”

Best Makeup for a Single-Camera Series, Movie, Mini or Special (Non-Prosthetic): “Grey’s Anatomy”

Best Makeup/ Multi-Camera (Non-Prosthetic): “Saturday Night Live”

Best Guest Actress in a Comedy: Betty White, “Saturday Night Live” (not present to accept)

Best Costumes for Movie/Mini: “Return to Cranford”

Best Costumes for a Series: “The Tudors”

Best Music Direction: “Olympic Games”

Best Choreography: Mia Michaels, “So You Think You Can Dance”

Best Music Score: “24”

Best Music Score for Movie/Mini: “Temple Grandin”

Best Music and Lyrics: “Monk”

Best Art Direction for Variety or Nonfiction Program: “Academy Awards”

Best Art Direction for Movie/Mini: “The Pacific”

Best Art Direction for a Single-Camera Series: “The Tudors”

Best Picture Editing for Comedy Series: “Modern Family”

Best Picture Editing for Drama Series (Single Camera): “Lost”

Best Picture Editing for Movie/Mini (Single Camera): “Temple Grandin”

Best Short Form Picture Editing: “Late Night with Jimmy Fallon”

Best Picture Editing for Nonfiction Program: “By the People: Election of Barack Obama”

Best Picture Editing for Reality Program: “Intervention”

Best Animated Program: “Disney Prep and Landing”

Best Short Form Animated Program: “Robot Chicken”

Best Voiceover Performance: Anne Hathaway, “The Simpsons”

Best Stunt Coordination: “Flash Forward”

Best Visual Effects in a Series: “CSI”

Best Visual Effects in a Movie/Mini/Special: “The Pacific, Part 5”

Best Main Titles Design: “Bored to Death”

Best Main Title Theme Music: “Nurse Jackie”

Best Guest Actor in a Drama Series: John Lithgow, “Dexter” (he accidentally thanked HBO instead of Showtime!)

Best Sound Mixing for a Comedy or Drama Series: “Glee”

Best Sound Mixing for a Mini/Movie: “The Pacific, Part 2”

Best Sound Mixing for Half-Hour Series (Tie): “Entourage” and “Modern Family”

Best Sound Mixing for Music Series or Special (tie): “Grammy Awards” and “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Concert”

Best Tech Direction for a Series: “Dancing with the Stars”

Best Tech Direction for a Mini/Special: “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Concert”

Best Cinematography for Nonfiction: “Life”

Best Cinematography for Movie/Mini: “Return to Cranford”

Best Cinematography for One-Hour Show: “CSI”

Best Cinematrophy for Half-Hour Series: “Weeds”

Best Cinematography for Nonfiction: “Survivor”

Best Lighting: Winter Olympics Opening

Best Guest Actor in a Comedy Series: Neil Patrick Harris, “Glee”

Best Direction for Nonfiction: “My Lai”

Best Writing for Nonfiction: “National Parks”

Exceptional Merit in Nonfiction Filmmaking: “Nerakhoon (The Betrayal)”

Best Nonfiction Special: “Teddy: In His Own Words”

Best Nonfiction Series: “National Parks: America’s Best Idea”

Best Special Class Program: “Tony Awards”

Best Creative Achievement Interactive: “Star Wars Uncut”

Best Creative Achievement in Interactive: “The Jimmy Fallon Digital Experience”

Best Direction of Variety: “Saturday Night Live”

Best Children’s Program: “Wizards of Waverly Place: The Movie”

Best Variety Special: “Kennedy Center Honors”

Best Variety Writing: “Colbert Report”

Best Children’s Nonfiction Program: “Nick News With Linda Ellerbee – The Face Of Courage: Kids Living With Cancer”

Best Commercial: “The Man Your Man Could Smell Like • Old Spice Body Wash”

Best Reality Program: “Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution”

Best Reality Host: Jeff Probst, “Survivor”

Best Guest Actress in a Drama Series: Ann-Margret, “Law & Order: SVU” (she received the only standing ovation of the night)

Source: Buzztab, Associated Press


  1. Congratulations also to Melbourne set decorator Lisa Thompson (Romper Stomper, Charlotte’s Web, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Moulin Rouge) who won the Emmy for Best Art Direction for a Miniseries or Movie. According to today’s Herald Sun and The Age, she transformed Melbourne’s Flinders Street into a 1943 streetscape complete with air-raid shelters ringed by sandbags. As for Angelo Sahin, who features on the front page of today’s MX, he is also from Melbourne and has worked on films including The Killer Elite, Ghost Rider, and Where the Wild Things Are.

  2. Lol you just wanted to use a picture of Neil Patrick Harris didn’t you David?? Nice to see Betty White win as well as several awards for The Pacific and The Tudors!!

  3. After being tipped, this morning 3AW Breakfast managed to track down Angelo Sahin, who was part of the team from The Pacific which won Best Visual Effects in a Movie/Mini/Special, and spoke to him (who was in Los Angeles) by phone. Congratulations!

  4. Delighted that Betty White adds to her haul – incredible career – winning in the 1950’s, 70’s. 80’s, 90’s and now 2010! Also finally a prize for Neil Patrick Harris – leaves supporting actor comedy hopefully to one of the three brilliant men from Modern Family (one of the toughest fields this year). Sentiment often creeps into the guest acting awards, with Ann Margret winning for that loopy ep of SVU! But the amazing John Lithgow always popular, winning for Dexter.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.