Reg Grundy to receive top AFI Award

Legendary producer Reg Grundy has been announced as the recipient of the AFI Raymond Longford Award.

Grundy will receive the accolade at the AFI Awards on Saturday. He was the producer of notable Aussie productions including Wheel of Fortune, Sale of the Century, Perfect Match, The Restless Years, The Young Doctors, Prisoner, Sons and Daughters, and Neighbours. His work has been seen by generations of Australians.

He joins a prestigious group of past recipients, including Geoffrey Rush, Fred Schepisi, Ken G. Hall, Tim Burstall, Charles ‘Bud’ Tingwell, Jack Thompson, David Stratton, Ted Robinson, and many more.

The AFI has announced some of its presenters including US actor Willem Dafoe, Catherine McClements, Sigrid Thornton, Asher Keddie, Vince Colosimo, Nick Giannopoulous, Stephen Curry, Julia Zemiro, Josh Lawson, Joel Edgerton, Alan Jones, Caitlin Stasey, Yvonne Strahovski, Alex Dimitriades, Fred
Schepisi, Shaun Micallef, Adam Zwar, Poppy Lee Friary, Claudia Karvan, Lincoln Lewis and Nash Edgerton.

The AFI Industry Awards will be held on Friday and the AFI Awards Ceremony on Saturday. Shane Jacobson will host both events at Melbourne’s Regent Theatre.

Performing are Sally Chatfield from The X Factor and Jon Stevens.  Claire Bowditch and Oh Mercy perform on Friday.

Nine’s delayed broadcast begins at 9.30pm on Saturday, commencing with the red carpet arrivals hosted by Giaan Rooney.


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.