IF Awards cancelled for 2012

Organisers for The Inside Film Awards have announced there will be no awards ceremony for 2012, citing the current difficult economic climate, sponsorship competition and lack of funding options in NSW.

The IF Awards are officially “on hold.”

The event which has predominantly recognised film have been staged across 13 years as part of Inside Film magazine and screened on SBS and Movie Extra.

They have often been seen as an independent alternative to the more traditional AFI Awards, recognising feature films, short films, documentaries, short animation and music videos, plus some television categories. Winners are largely chosen via audience voting.

IF Awards Group General Manager Mark Kuban said, “I still firmly believe in a People’s Choice awards program for Australian film and television and the success of the IF Awards for more than a decade shows that the support is there from both industry and consumers.

“However it is important to acknowledge that we are operating in difficult economic times and in a more competitive environment. Certainly, the past few years have been challenging, partly because of market uncertainties, which have been further compounded by the recently revamped AACTA Awards which moved to Sydney in 2011. I think for us it’s a good time to refocus and reinvent the awards to reflect the influence technology has had on film and television. It’s an exciting time.”

Margaret Pomeranz, IF Living Legend recipient,  said: “The IF Awards disappearing off our film scene this year!? It’s a tragedy. They were wonderfully different, focussing not only on our film successes but on emerging talent like Andrew Dominik, Kath Shelper, Ryan Corr and Anthony Maras.

“They were irreverent when necessary but also a lovely reflection of Australian audiences’ engagement with our films. And it was always the best party in town. I hope this is a momentary glitch and they will be back with all that energy and enthusiasm for our film culture in a nanosecond.”

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.