Cameras roll on more Please Like Me

Denise Drysdale, Hannah Gadsby and Keegan Joyce join season two of Josh Thomas' bittersweet comedy.

8plmProduction is underway on Season Two of Josh Thomas’ comedy Please Like Me, ABC2’s highest rating original comedy series.

The first series attracted glowing praise from The New Yorker, TIME, Entertainment Weekly and the LA Times, and is currently nominated for a GLAAD Media Award. In Australia it won the 2014 AACTA Award for Best Television Comedy or Light Entertainment Series.

“The first season was enjoyed by some people, which is the dream. I’m super excited about season 2. Hopefully we won’t stuff this one up,” says Thomas.

In season two, Josh tries to get through the day without upsetting anyone. The new season also welcomes a new dog, a new rabbit and a new baby.

New cast members in season two include Hannah Gadsby, Denise Drysdale, plus Keegan Joyce (Rake), Charles Cottier (Home & Away) and Charlotte Nicdao (The Slap, The Time Of Our Lives).

8plmThe new cast will be joining Josh and his circle of family and friends from season one including Debra Lawrance (Mum), David Roberts (Dad), Renee Lim (Mae), Thomas Ward (Tom), Caitlin Stasey (Claire) and Wade Briggs (Geoffrey).

Rick Kalowski, ABC Head of Comedy, said “We couldn’t be prouder at ABC to be going into business with Pivot on season two of this outstanding show. I’ve never read new scripts as assured as these. Please Like Me fans all over the world are in for a major treat.”

Director Matthew Saville (The Slap, Cloudstreet, Felony) and producer Todd Abbott also return for the second season. Executive producers are Josh Thomas, Todd Abbott and Kevin Whyte. Executive producers for the ABC are Rick Kalowski and Brett Sleigh, and for Pivot, Jeff Skoll and Holly Hines.

Please Like Me is a Pigeon Fancier / John & Josh International Production for Pivot and ABC2.

4 Responses

Leave a Reply