AWGIE Awards 2015: winners

The Secret River, Deadline Gallipoli, Wentworth & Please Like Me all awarded by the Writers' Guild.


The ABC has dominated TV winners at the Australian Writers’ Guild Awards held on the weekend, winning 4 awards.

The Secret River, Please Like MeGuess How Much I Love You and The New Adventures of Figaro Pho were all recognised.

Both Foxtel and Nine shows picked up three awards, including Deadline Gallipoli for Foxtel and The House of Hancock for Nine.


Television Mini Series – Original
Deadline Gallipoli
Jacquelin Perske
Stuart Beattie
Shaun Grant
Cate Shortland

Television Mini Series – Adaptation
The Secret River
Jan Sardi
Mac Gudgeon

Telemovie – Original
House of Hancock
Katherine Thomson

Television – Series (two winners)
1. Offspring: Episode 511
Michael Lucas

2. Wentworth: Series 3, ‘The Governor’s Pleasure’
Stuart Page

Television – Serial
Home and Away: Episode 6057
Louise Bowes

Comedy – Sketch or Light Entertainment
Legally Brown: Series 2
Joel Slack-Smith

Comedy – Situation or Narrative
Please Like Me: Series 2, ‘Scroggin’
Josh Thomas

Children’s Television – P​​​
Guess How Much I Love You: ‘Make A Rainbow’
Charlotte Rose Hamlyn

Children’s Television – C
Skinner Boys: ‘Festival of the Ancestors’
David Witt

The New Adventures of Figaro Pho: ‘The Fear of Zombies (Romerophobia)’
Bruce Griffiths


Drama or Comedy, Other Form
The Katering Show
Kate McLennan

Interactive Media
Secrets & Lies
Stephen Irwin
Lucas Taylor
Dominic Morris

Tim Pye received the Richard Lane Award for Outstanding Service and Dedication to the Australian Writers’ Guild.

Foxtel Head of Drama Penny Win said: “The AWGIES is a celebration of the writers at the heart of great storytelling and congratulations to all winners and nominees. The awards for the writers of Wentworth and Deadline Gallipoli are absolutely deserved and bring further prestige to both of these great Australian television dramas brought to fruition for Foxtel audiences by our valued production partnerships with FremantleMedia Australia, Matchbox Pictures and Full Clip.”

Foxtel Executive Director of Television Brian Walsh said: “Foxtel is committed to commissioning bold and thought provoking Australian dramas for our subscribers and, as Head of Drama, Penny Win is driving Foxtel’s accomplishments in this genre.”

One Response

Leave a Reply