AACTA Awards: Meet the Nominees

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) has announced the first panellists for its series of Meet the Nominees events.

These intimate events provide the opportunity to hear personal insights from select nominees from those for the 7th AACTA Awards: Th Writers, The Cinematographers, the Directors, The Editors, The Producers, & Sound.

Presented by the Australian Film, Television and Radio School and co-hosted with screen guilds and societies, these will be held at the AFTRS Theatre in Sydney on Sunday 3rd and Tuesday 5th December.

Following his first feature film nomination, AACTA Award winning director Jeffrey Walker (Ali’s Wedding), will provide his perspective on making the switch from television to feature film during The Directors event. He will be joined by first – time AACTA nominee Ben Young (Hounds of Love) as well as television director and AFI Award winner Glendyn Ivin (Seven Types of Ambiguity).

The Writers event will provide a unique insight into adapted screenplays, featuring Oscar® nominated and BAFTA Award winning writer Luke Davies (Lion), dual Best Adapted Screenplay nominee Shaun Grant (Berlin Syndrome, Jasper Jones), two – time AFI Award winner Jacquelin Perske (Seven Types of Ambiguity) and first time AACTA nominee James Greville (Don’t Tell). First – time AACTA nominee Priscilla Cameron (The Butterfly Tree) will also speak at The Writers event, sharing her experience as a writer – director on her feature film debut.

The Editors and The Cinematographers events will feature a number of highly – acclaimed practitioners , including: Emmy nominated and AACTA Award winning editor Alexandre de Franceschi (Lion); Sundance Film Festival Award winning cinematographer Germain McMicking (Top of the Lake: China Girl); Emmy nominated and AACTA Award winning cinematographer Jon Shaw (Blue); and AFI Award winning editor and seven – time nominee Nick Meyers (Australia Day).

Neil Peplow, CEO of AFTRS said ‘ We’re thrilled to be partnering with AACTA again to present the 2017 Meet the Nominee s events; this is an exclusive opportunity to hear the best of Australian film, television and documentary makers give insights into how they approach their craft.’

Attendance is complimentary for members of AFI (open to all), AACTA (industry professionals) and Guild members. Those who aren’t members but wish to attend the events, can join AFI | AACTA today.

Further panellist and moderator announcements will be made in the coming weeks.

Sunday December 3
in association with ASSG
Moderator and panellists to be announced soon.

The Editors
in association with ASE
Moderator: Jane St Vincent Welch
Panellists: Rodrigo Balart (Seven Types Of Ambiguity), Merlin Eden (Hounds Of Love), Alexandre de Franceschi (Lion), Nick Meyers (Australia Day), Toby Trappel (Masterchef Australia)

The Cinematographers
in association with ACS
Moderator: Kim Batterham ACS
Panellists: Stefan Duscio (Jungle), Bonnie Elliott (Seven Types Of Ambiguity), Abraham Joffe (Tales By Light), Germain McMicking (Top Of The Lake: China Girl), Simon Morris (Deep Water: The Real Story), Jon Shaw (Blue), Bruce Young ACS (Blue Murder: Killer Cop)

Tuesday 5 December
The Writers
in association with AWG
Panellists: Priscilla Cameron (The Butterfly Tree), Luke Davies (Lion), Shaun Grant (Berlin
Syndrome and Jasper Jones), James Greville (Don’t Tell), Jacquelin Perske (Seven Types Of Ambiguity)

The Directors
in association with ADG
Panellists: Glendyn Ivin (Seven Types Of Ambiguity), Jeffrey Walker (Ali’s Wedding), Ben Young (Hounds Of Love)

The Producers
in association with SPA
Moderator and panellists to be announced soon.

AFI | AACTA What’s On.

Sponsored post. TV Tonight is a partner of the 2017 AACTA Awards.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.