AFLX: guide

Seven’s coverage of the new AFLX matches will take place from Thursday – Saturday, screening on both 7TWO and 7mate due to the Winter Olympics.

Brian Taylor and James Brayshaw will call the game with players from various clubs joining each night in guest commentary.

AFLX is ready to showcase the best of footy in a shortened format across three days with seven players a side and three on the bench.

AFLX is a new and different version of Australian Football and has been designed to take the traditional game from oval grounds to rectangular fields, while still containing all of the marks, goals and tackles that fans love.

Adelaide, Melbourne and Sydney will host individual tournaments featuring all 18 AFL clubs, beginning on Thursday February 15 at Hindmarsh Stadium.

Each AFLX tournament will see six AFL Clubs play across two pools in six matches, before culminating in a Grand Final.

Every match consists of two ten-minute halves with no time on and a three-minute half time break. There will be a five-minute break in between each of the six AFLX pool matches and a ten-minute break leading into the Grand Final.

The X in AFLX relates to the roman numeral character for the number ten which is a constant throughout the alternative version of the game.

Ten quick facts about AFLX
Played on a rectangular field (approx. 70m width x 110m length) with four posts at each end (as per a normal AFL field). Ground markings will showcase X as the centre square and 40m arcs.
Two field umpires, two boundary umpires and one goal umpire at each end of the ground.
Ten players per team, seven on field at all times and three on the interchange bench. No restrictions on player rotations.
10-minute quarters or halves depending on the tournament format.
Free kick against for last touch out of bounds.
Kick-ins from behind the goal line after all scores.
No marks paid for backwards kicks (except in forward 40m area).
Quarters commence with a ‘ball up’ in the centre and at least two players from each team starting inside the 40m arc.
Free shot from forward 40m arc – directly in front for deliberate rushed behinds.
10-point super goals when goals kicked on the full from outside the 40m arc.

Thursday February 15
AFLX – Adelaide
Pool A: Port Adelaide, Geelong Cats, Fremantle
Pool B: Adelaide Crows, West Coast Eagles, Collingwood
Sydney 6.30pm Live on 7TWO
Melbourne 6.30pm Live on 7TWO
Brisbane 5.30pm Live on 7TWO
Adelaide 6.00pm Live on 7TWO
Perth 3.30pm Live on 7TWO

Friday February 16
AFLX – Melbourne
Pool A: Carlton, Melbourne, North Melbourne
Pool B: Hawthorn, Essendon, St Kilda
Sydney 6.30pm Live on 7TWO
Melbourne 6.30pm Live on 7TWO
Brisbane 5.30pm Live on 7TWO
Adelaide 6.00pm Live on 7TWO
Perth 3.30pm Live on 7TWO

Saturday February 17
AFLX – Sydney
Pool A: GWS Giants, Richmond, Brisbane Lions
Pool B: Sydney Swans, Western Bulldogs, Gold Coast Suns
Sydney 4.00pm Live on 7mate
Melbourne 4.00pm Live on 7mate
Brisbane 3.00pm Live on 7mate
Adelaide 3.30pm Live on 7mate
Perth 1.00pm Live on 7mate

10 Comments:

  1. Be thankful you’ve got at least one channel from 7 in HD – here in Tassie we lost the HD feed of 7mate and Southern Cross have been upconverting an 7SD feed to their SXHD channel since March last year!

  2. battlestargalactica

    Shame circumstances have scheduled this during Winter Olympics – shunting it to secondary channels. I was looking forward to seeing how Seven might approach the coverage but word is they’ve outsourced it to the company that does AFLW, with a similar budget, so I’m not expecting any bells and whistles. Missed opportunity.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.