Sydney – Hobart Yacht Race 2018: guide

7mate’s coverage of the Sydney-Hobart Yacht Race on Boxing day will form part of a big network day in sport. Cricket will screen on Seven at the same time.

Matt Carmichael will host with expert commentary from Peter Shipway and Comanche 2017 winning skipper Jimmy Spithill.

A fleet of 91 boats, including five super maxis, will take to Sydney Harbour on Boxing Day for the start of the 74th Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race.

Australian crews will be joined by 13 international entrants with this year’s race expected to produce one of the closest finishes in the event’s history.

International entries will come from China, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Poland, Russia, the UK and the USA.

Last year’s overall winner Ichi Ban will return to defend its title, joined by current course record-breaker Comanche with skipper Jim Cooney at the helm.

Wild Oats XI will be back, undoubtedly eager to cross the line first after a controversial finish in 2017 that saw them stripped of line honours.

Wednesday December 26
Sydney 12.30pm Live on 7mate
Melbourne 12.30pm Live on 7mate
Brisbane 11.30am Live on 7mate
Adelaide 12pm Live on 7mate
Perth 9.30am Live on 7mate

6 Comments:

  1. Let’s hope that the coverage is better than the last couple of years. It has been fantastic, but sadly Seven concentrate on the first couple of super maxis and forget the rest of the 95 boats. I was wondering if Seven would be able to do the start seeing their commitments to cricket.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.