2019 Sydney Hobart Yacht Race: guide

Boxing Day is a very big sporting day for Seven with the Sydney Hobart Yacht Race on 7mate and Test Cricket on Seven.

Seven’s coverage of the Sydney – Hobart will be hosted by Mark Beretta with commentary from a veteran of 32 Sydney Hobart races Peter Shipway and Comanche’s 2017 winning skipper Jimmy Spithill.

The fifth-largest field ever will take to Sydney Harbour on Boxing Day for the start of the historic 75th edition of the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race, with all the action live and free on Seven.

A fleet of 157 boats will start this year’s race, including entries from France, Great Britain, Hungary, Ireland, Monaco, Poland, Hong Kong and the USA. Last year’s overall winner Alive will also be back, along with the super maxis who made 2018’s line-honours battle one of the tightest and most thrilling in the fabled event’s history.

Just four miles separated eventual winner Wild Oats XI, Black Jack, Comanche and InfoTrack when they reached the Derwent River last year, and the quartet’s fight for line honours along with Scallywag should be a highlight of the 2019 Sydney Hobart.

When the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia’s starting cannon is fired, Sydney Harbour comes alive as a flurry of yachts scramble to be first out of the Heads. To help bring viewers all the excitement of this iconic moment, Seven will have cameras on-board Wild Oats XI (the record nine-time line-honours winner) and Comanche (the 2017 line-honours winner and race record-holder).

Thursday December 26
2019 Sydney Hobart Yacht Race
Sydney 12.30pm Live on 7mate
Melbourne 12.30pm Live on 7mate
Brisbane 11.30am Live on 7mate
Adelaide 12.00pm Live on 7mate
Perth 9.30am Live on 7mate

4 Comments:

  1. It’s not for me but my husband lamented today what a shame it is that its just wedged in between other programs. He said today’s start was the most exciting he can remember.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.