2019 ICC Cricket World Cup: 9GEM guide

9GEM coverage of the ICC One Day International World Cup begins tonight at 7.00pm AEST.

Nine’s coverage will be hosted by Rebecca Maddern, former Australian captains Mark Taylor and Lisa Sthalekar, and wicket-keeper Ian Healy.

The commentary team will include Sourav Ganguly, Melanie Jones, Kumar Sangakkara, Mark Nicholas, Wasim Akram, Michael Clarke and Brendon McCullum.

With 18 big games Live at prime time over more than six weeks of top-class cricket action, including every match featuring Australia and every final, Nine will deliver all the most anticipated moments of the World Cup as the top ten cricketing nations in the world collide.

All eyes are on Australia, the defending champions, going into the tournament with ten ODI wins in a row and strengthened by the long-awaited return of Steve Smith and David Warner, who are both in red-hot form.

Coach Justin Langer has a wealth of selection options and some tough decisions to make, as Usman Khawaja and Shaun Marsh continue to impress with the bat, while all-rounders Glenn Maxwell and Marcus Stoinis will also be hard to deny a spot in the team.

The four nations finishing on the most points after nine games will face off in two semi-finals, with the victors meeting in the final on the hallowed turf of Lord’s in London on Sunday, July 14.

9GEM schedule (all times are AEST):

Thu, May 30
7:00pm
England vs South Africa
Kennington Oval, London

Sat, Jun 1
10:00pm
Australia vs Afghanistan
County Ground, Bristol

Mon, Jun 3
7:00pm
England vs Pakistan
Trent Bridge, Nottingham

Thu, Jun 6
7:00pm
Australia vs West Indies
Trent Bridge, Nottingham

Sun, Jun 9
7:00pm
Australia vs India
Kennington Oval, London

Wed, Jun 12
7:00pm
Australia vs Pakistan
The Cooper Associates Country Ground, Taunton

Sat, Jun 15
7:00pm
Australia vs Sri Lanka
Kennington Oval, London

Sat, Jun 16
7:00pm
India vs Pakistan
Old Trafford, Manchester

Wed, Jun 19
7:00pm
New Zealand vs South Africa
Edgbaston, Birmingham

Thu, Jun 20
7:00pm
Australia vs Bangladesh
Trent Bridge, Nottingham

Tue, Jun 25
7:00pm
Australia vs England
Lord’s, London

Sat, Jun 29
10:00pm
Australia vs New Zealand
Lord’s, London

Sun, Jun 30
7:00pm
England vs India
Edgbaston, Birmingham

Wed, Jul 3
7:00pm
England vs New Zealand
Riverside Ground, Chester-le-Street

Sat, Jul 6
10:00pm
Australia vs South Africa
Old Trafford, Manchester

Tue, Jul 9
7:00pm
1ST SEMI FINAL (1st vs 4th)
Old Trafford, Manchester

Thu, Jul 11
7:00pm
2ND SEMI FINAL (2nd vs 3rd)
Edgbaston, Birmingham

Sun, Jul 14
7:00pm
FINAL (TBC vs TBC)
Lord’s, London

FOX Sports / Kayo coverage is here.

5 Comments:

  1. What a silly decision airing RBT, Paramedics, Kings Cross ER in Melbourne on Nine’s main channel!
    When the Cricket World Cup is shoved to 9GEM and in standard def!?!?

    I predict the ratings to show GEM cricket outrating those factual reruns, big time and hopefully David to highlight or call them out!

    • TV fanatic29

      This is from the ICC website “In Australia, Channel 9 will carry 21 matches, including all Australia matches, the semi-finals and final via their channel 9GEM. They will complement Fox Sports Australia coverage, who will broadcast all matches live via Fox Sports Cricket, including the tournament warm up matches“

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.