State of Origin 2019: guide

State of Origin 2019 begins tomorrow on Nine live around the country, when the Maroons meet the Blues at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane.

Nine’s commentary panel will include Ray Warren, Phil Gould, Paul Vautin, Andrew Johns, Darren Lockyer, Peter Sterling and Wally Lewis.

The Today show also broadcasts Live from Suncorp Stadium tomorrow.

State of Origin has proven to be one of the can’t-miss television events since it began in 1980 as New South Wales and Queensland compete in a state-versus-state rivalry without rival.

With Ray Warren – the voice of Origin – calling every big hit, line break and try, Nine’s unrivalled commentary panel this year will include more Origin legends than ever, with Phil Gould, Paul Vautin, Andrew Johns, Darren Lockyer, Peter Sterling and Wally Lewis analysing the action.

For the first time, former Origin stars Johnathan Thurston, Billy Slater, Paul Gallen and Sam Thaiday also join the commentary team to give insights throughout the series from their unique perspective as recent players, explaining what the current players experiencing and feeling.

Viewers will have unprecedented access to the game, with four supplementary streams available on 9Now in addition to the game itself. These include Spidercam, NSW coaches box, QLD coaches box, and for the first time, the innovative Referee Cam, allowing fans to see and hear everything lead referee Ashley Klein does on the field.

Also for the first time in a State of Origin game, Nine’s corner post cameras will be employed, offering incredible close-up shots of players as they attempt to score and defend tries.

In another innovation, NSW Blues coach Brad Fittler will speak with Nine commentators during the game to give his thoughts on his team live and what they need to do to overcome the Maroons.

After winning the series last year for the first time since 2014, the NSW Blues are looking to post back-to-back series wins over the Queensland Maroons for the first time since 2005.

It’s a new generation for both sides, with several players on debut. NSW has five debutants in Cody Walker, Payne Haas, Cameron Murray, Jack Wighton and Nick Cotric, while Queensland have three: Moses Mbye, Joe Ofahengaue and David Fifita.

NSW will head into a volatile confrontation in front of a sellout, hostile crowd at Suncorp Stadium, willing Queensland to a 1-0 series lead ahead of Game Two, which will see Origin played in Perth for the first time.

The coverage begins tomorrow morning at 5.30am AEST as the Today Show broadcasts Live from Suncorp Stadium. A host of Nine’s Origin legends will give their final thoughts on the game, while lucky viewers on-site can win tickets to the game and merchandise.

Sydney 7.00pm Live on Nine
Brisbane 7.00pm Live on Nine
Melbourne 7.00pm Live on Nine
Adelaide 7.00pm Live on Nine (Pre-show on 9GEM from 6.30pm)
Perth 5.30pm Live on Nine (Pre-show on 9GEM from 5.00pm)

Wed, June 5
7:00pm AEST
Game One
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Sun, Jun 23
7:00pm AEST
Game Two
Optus Stadium, Perth

Wed, Jul 10
7:00pm AEST
Game Three
ANZ Stadium, Sydney

Check local guides for details.

One Comment:

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.